Page 1 of 1

taskswitch - how

Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2001 3:12 am
by thomas
Hi.
I try to switch between tasks. I tried f.e. this:
jmp ax:0
(ax is loaded with a tss-selector)
but nasm says no. It will only work with immediate values f.e.:
jmp 8:0
How can i solve this problem?

Re: taskswitch - how

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2001 1:31 pm
by -KEN-

Re: taskswitch - how

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2002 2:26 am
by abc
I think you can only use segment registers with the JMP commands, try something like this:

 PUSH AX            ;Push AX value onto stack
 POP SI               ;put the value into SI
 JMP SI:0x0000    ;Jump

Re: taskswitch - how

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2002 3:27 am
by df
jmp double [memory_address_here] etc.
or cast them onto the stack and iret/retf
etc