Page 1 of 1
[SOLVED] Triple Fault on filling screen.
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:48 pm
by zlixine
Hi guys
(noob here) , I am developing a simple text based Operating system
here, I am in protected mode, and I noticed when the screen is filled with text, a triple fault triggers, is it a common problem? or did I make a coding mistake?
also I Use the
same Debug Text Printing from
Brokenthorn Tutorials.
anyway see the attachment to understand what I mean.
Cheers.
EDIT:
I solved it by clearing the screen when it is fill (Temporary of course).
also about the triple fault , it looks like, I fucked up the GDT by mistake, I fixed it and it worked.
Thanks for you Attention.
Re: Triple Fault on filling screen.
Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:52 am
by Mikumiku747
I took a quick glance at the text output code and saw
this line:
That should probably be 24, since the screen is only 25 lines, and it's zero indexed, so your cursor Y should only go from 0 to 24. Try just replacing the ">= 25" with "> 24" and see how it goes.
Also, just a side note, the repo needs a bit of a clean, you've got a .gitignore file in there, but you still need to git-rm the leftovers that are being tracked or otherwise remove them from the repo.
- Mikumiku747
Re: Triple Fault on filling screen.
Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 8:53 am
by zlixine
Mikumiku747 wrote:
That should probably be 24, since the screen is only 25 lines, and it's zero indexed, so your cursor Y should only go from 0 to 24. Try just replacing the ">= 25" with "> 24" and see how it goes.
Didn't Work
, it still restarts the emulator.
Mikumiku747 wrote:
Also, just a side note, the repo needs a bit of a clean, you've got a .gitignore file in there, but you still need to git-rm the leftovers that are being tracked or otherwise remove them from the repo.
Yes, I am aware of this, and I am planning to fix it soon.