[SOLVED] Triple Fault on filling screen.

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
User avatar
zlixine
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:13 pm

[SOLVED] Triple Fault on filling screen.

Post by zlixine »

Hi guys (noob here) , I am developing a simple text based Operating system here, I am in protected mode, and I noticed when the screen is filled with text, a triple fault triggers, is it a common problem? or did I make a coding mistake?
also I Use the same Debug Text Printing from Brokenthorn Tutorials.
anyway see the attachment to understand what I mean.

Cheers.
EDIT:
I solved it by clearing the screen when it is fill (Temporary of course).
also about the triple fault , it looks like, I fucked up the GDT by mistake, I fixed it and it worked.

Thanks for you Attention.
Last edited by zlixine on Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Developing ZeroX Operating System;
I code C++ so much that I am ending English Statements & Replies with semi-colon instead of dot;
User avatar
Mikumiku747
Member
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:37 am

Re: Triple Fault on filling screen.

Post by Mikumiku747 »

I took a quick glance at the text output code and saw this line:

Code: Select all

if (cursor_y >= 25)
That should probably be 24, since the screen is only 25 lines, and it's zero indexed, so your cursor Y should only go from 0 to 24. Try just replacing the ">= 25" with "> 24" and see how it goes.

Also, just a side note, the repo needs a bit of a clean, you've got a .gitignore file in there, but you still need to git-rm the leftovers that are being tracked or otherwise remove them from the repo.

- Mikumiku747
User avatar
zlixine
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:13 pm

Re: Triple Fault on filling screen.

Post by zlixine »

Mikumiku747 wrote: That should probably be 24, since the screen is only 25 lines, and it's zero indexed, so your cursor Y should only go from 0 to 24. Try just replacing the ">= 25" with "> 24" and see how it goes.
Didn't Work :( , it still restarts the emulator.
Mikumiku747 wrote: Also, just a side note, the repo needs a bit of a clean, you've got a .gitignore file in there, but you still need to git-rm the leftovers that are being tracked or otherwise remove them from the repo.
Yes, I am aware of this, and I am planning to fix it soon.
Developing ZeroX Operating System;
I code C++ so much that I am ending English Statements & Replies with semi-colon instead of dot;
Post Reply