Page 1 of 1

Enabling Interupts

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:28 pm
by GhostSniper
Before you tell me to RTFW, I have already but I don't fully understand how to enable interrupts. I have my basic kernel, inb, outb, and print functions. But in order to use the inb and outb I have have to enable interrupts correct? It would really be appreciated if someone could tell me how to enable interrupts 8)

Re: Enabling Interupts

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:35 pm
by alethiophile

Code: Select all

asm volatile ("sti");
It really is that simple.

Re: Enabling Interupts

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:35 pm
by pcmattman

Re: Enabling Interupts

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:36 pm
by madeofstaples
GhostSniper wrote:Before you tell me to RTFW, I have already but I don't fully understand how to enable interrupts
The sti instruction?
GhostSniper wrote:I have my basic kernel, inb, outb, and print functions. But in order to use the inb and outb I have have to enable interrupts correct?
Incorrect. Port I/O has nothing to do with interrupts.