Enabling Interupts

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
GhostSniper
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 4:57 pm

Enabling Interupts

Post by GhostSniper »

Before you tell me to RTFW, I have already but I don't fully understand how to enable interrupts. I have my basic kernel, inb, outb, and print functions. But in order to use the inb and outb I have have to enable interrupts correct? It would really be appreciated if someone could tell me how to enable interrupts 8)
User avatar
alethiophile
Member
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 10:28 am

Re: Enabling Interupts

Post by alethiophile »

Code: Select all

asm volatile ("sti");
It really is that simple.
If I had an OS, there would be a link here.
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

Re: Enabling Interupts

Post by pcmattman »

madeofstaples
Member
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:15 am
Location: Michigan

Re: Enabling Interupts

Post by madeofstaples »

GhostSniper wrote:Before you tell me to RTFW, I have already but I don't fully understand how to enable interrupts
The sti instruction?
GhostSniper wrote:I have my basic kernel, inb, outb, and print functions. But in order to use the inb and outb I have have to enable interrupts correct?
Incorrect. Port I/O has nothing to do with interrupts.
Some people are offended by the verifiable truth; such people tend to remain blissfully unencumbered by fact.
If you are one of these people, my posts may cause considerable discomfort. Read at your own risk.
Post Reply