Page 1 of 1
Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 11:15 am
by Yosuke_
Hi!
On Linux NASM works great, but when I try to run it on Dos I get this:
Load error: no DPMI - Get csdpmib.zip
It's a 32 bit assembler!
Next!
I need a linker right? I read that I need "alink". I did a litle google search and found it, but when I run it I get this:
This program requires Win32
Where can I get linker for Dos and why isn't NASM working? And what else do I need for start learning assembly? I have a book and about that Debugger! Can I use Dos utility Debug or do I need something else? Thank you very much!
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:25 pm
by beyondsociety
You cant use a version of nasm on linux and expect it will work on windows. You need to download a windows version. You only need a linker if your going to to be using c and asm, as assembly must compiled using an assembler.
To learn asm, you need:
1. A assembly book or online guides
2. A assembler and debugger
You can use the dos debug utility if you want, but I'd advise against it. I currently use nasm to compile my asm files and use bochs and its debugger for testing.
Hope this helps.
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:15 pm
by Yosuke_
beyondsociety wrote:
You cant use a version of nasm on linux and expect it will work on windows.
NO!!!
I downloaded nasm version for dos from sourceforge.com! Do you know anyother place where can I download it for Dos? Thank you!
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 3:39 pm
by df
get the win32 version of nasm (nasmw.exe). that will work fine in windows. so will the win32 version of alink.exe
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 5:04 pm
by Yosuke_
I don't have a Windows!!! I have just Dos and Linux. In that book there is writen how Dos deals with memory etc.. So I wan't to run nasm on Dos. I have nasm on Linux allso and its working find! I need nasm for DOS!!!!
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 6:28 pm
by Ytinasni
Load error: no DPMI - Get csdpmib.zip
Try doing what it says....get the file 'csdpmib.zip' from the sourceforge download page.
(EDIT: actually, you want the newer version 'csdpmi5b.zip')
Then, run the program contaned within before running nasm.
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 6:28 pm
by DennisCGc
Yosuke_ wrote:
I don't have a Windows!!! I have just Dos and Linux. In that book there is writen how Dos deals with memory etc.. So I wan't to run nasm on Dos. I have nasm on Linux allso and its working find! I need nasm for DOS!!!!
Hey, relax, and next time use the 16 bit version
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/nasm ... p?download
HTH.
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 2:55 am
by Yosuke_
Thank you very much!
16bit nasm works!
But why does 16 works and 32 doesn't work! Is Dos a 16bit operating system? Thank you!!
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 3:16 am
by Yosuke_
And another thing about debuger!
I try to use dos debug.exe and all it does it says:
Forgert MS-DOS-version
If I type any argument it prints the same thing! Where can I get a debuger? Thank you!
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 3:35 am
by Solar
Is Dos a 16bit operating system?
Yes.
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:45 am
by beyondsociety
You cant use a version of nasm on linux and expect it will work on windows.
NO!!!
I downloaded nasm version for dos from sourceforge.com! Do you know anyother place where can I download it for Dos? Thank you!
Why are you shouting at me? Its not my fault that you cant explain your question better. >:(
Re:Can't run NASM! Strange errors!
Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 6:43 am
by smiddy
Yosuke_ wrote:
And another thing about debuger!
I try to use dos debug.exe and all it does it says:
Forgert MS-DOS-version
If I type any argument it prints the same thing! Where can I get a debuger? Thank you!
Greetings,
There is a great debugger called GRDB. You can get it
here. It is in 32 bit and does run mostly like DEBUG. Hope that helps!