Page 1 of 2
HTML Question
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 4:22 pm
by Not Available
Can anyone tell me what's wrong with this? It looks right to me, but everytime I open it in IE6, it just shows a little box in the top right corner...
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC
"-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title>Not Available</title>
</head>
<frameset rows ="200,*,75" cols="*"
border ="0"
frameborder ="0"
framespacing ="0"
<frame name="header"
target ="main"
src ="Frames\header.html
marginheight ="0"
marginwidth ="0"
scrolling ="no"
noresize>
<frameset cols="200,*"
border ="0"
frameborder ="0"
framespacing ="0"
<frame name="navbar"
target ="main"
src ="Frames\navbar.html"
marginheight ="0"
marginwidth ="0"
scrolling ="no"
noresize>
<frame name="main"
src ="frameset-2.html"
marginheight ="0"
marginwidth ="0"
scrolling ="auto"
noresize>
<noframes>
<body
bgcolor =""
text =""
link =""
alink =""
vlink ="">
</body>
</noframes>
</frameset>
</frameset>
</html>
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:02 am
by beyond infinity lazy
looks right to you, eh? And IE6 is a bunch of crap, hm?
1. Please have the lines together and forget about this
putting-every-argument-in-one-line, it makes debugging a horror.
2. look at the code below: it is your html-frameset in a correct way:
Code: Select all
<frameset rows ="200,*,75" cols="*" border ="0" frameborder ="0" framespacing ="0">
<frameset cols="200,*" border ="0" frameborder ="0" framespacing ="0">
<frame name="navbar" target ="main" src ="Frames\navbar.html" marginheight ="0" marginwidth ="0" scrolling ="no" noresize>
<frame name="main" src ="frameset-2.html" marginheight ="0" marginwidth ="0" scrolling ="auto" noresize>
</frameset>
<frame name="header" target ="main" src ="Frames\header.html" marginheight ="0" marginwidth ="0" scrolling ="no" noresize>
</frameset>
stay safe and check out
www.teamone.de/selfhtml
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:12 pm
by Tim
FWIW, the original code displayed fine in IE6 on my machine.
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 8:05 pm
by Not Available
When did I ever say IE6 was a piece of crap? You don't need to be putting words in my mouth. And who said there was an exact way you had to put it? You do it the way you like it, and I'll do it the way I like it.
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 12:26 am
by distantvoices
*dodging away from the thistles*
@tim: I have tested the original code with IE6 too and it displayed a little box in the upper left corner. For he has forgotten two important closing brackets at the end of the framset declaration statements, and put a frame declaration at a place not correct, it didn't work out the way expected.
@Not Available: I never put words in anyones mouth. It would be hard a thing to do so,especially on an internet board. And I don't require you to have your code in the way "i like", but code posted to a board for having others debug it should have a read-able form. And yes, I am not a Nice Guy(tm) ];->.
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 5:44 pm
by Not Available
So basically, it was "constructive critism"!!!
Well, since I did it wrong, could you please tell me how I could fix it? Oh, and sorry it was hard for you to debug.
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 5:11 am
by Neo
Just wanted to know if there is any way you can get the 'onmouseover' event to be called in an imagemap?
This is my code trying this out. The 'onfocus' event works but i don't want to have the user pressing the tab key just for my function to be called (which is just a statusbar update anyway). Please help
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<SCRIPT language="JavaScript">
function showstatus(text){
window.status=text;
}
</SCRIPT>
<TITLE>Test</TITLE>
</SCRIPT>
</HEAD>
<BODY leftmargin=0 topmargin=0 onload='javascript:showstatus("WORKS");'>
<MAP name="testmap0">
<area tabindex=3 href="events/pp.htm" coords="72, 409, 204, 423" shape="rect" alt="Paper Presentation" onfocus='showstatus("PP");return true;'>
<area tabindex=4 href="events/debug.htm" shape="rect" coords="71, 432, 178, 448" alt="Debugging">
<area tabindex=5 href="events/debate" shape="rect" coords="71, 456, 170, 471" alt="Debate">
<area tabindex=5 href="events/multi.htm" shape="rect" coords="70, 479, 174, 494" alt="Multimedia Presentation">
<area tabindex=6 href="events/swcontest.htm" shape="rect" coords="72, 501, 202, 516" alt="Software contest">
<area tabindex=7 href="events/orchestra.htm" shape="rect" coords="71, 526, 204, 540" alt="Orchestra">
<area tabindex=8 href="events/anon.htm" shape="rect" coords="270, 407, 366, 423" alt="Anonymous">
<area tabindex=9 href="events/texcpo.htm" shape="rect" coords="269, 433, 336, 447" alt="">
<area tabindex=10 href="events/paint.htm" shape="rect" coords="266, 478, 414, 494" alt="">
<area tabindex=11 href="events/cuckoo.htm" shape="rect" coords="268, 503, 418, 516" alt="">
<area tabindex=12 href="events/ffire.htm" shape="rect" coords="270, 525, 389, 539" alt="">
<area tabindex=13 href="events/htaps.htm" shape="rect" coords="269, 453, 366, 469" alt="">
</MAP>
<IMG src="cosit1.jpg" usemap="#testmap0" width="777" height="589" border=0>
</BODY>
</HTML>
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:02 am
by Candy
Not Available wrote:
Code: Select all
<frame name="header"
target ="main"
src ="Frames\header.html
marginheight ="0"
marginwidth ="0"
scrolling ="no"
noresize>
You forgot to close the src-clause.
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:50 am
by Neo
what frame??
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:19 pm
by Therx
This is why you should start a new thread for a new topic. He was referring to the original code
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:32 pm
by Neo
well i popped this thread from GOD knows where so that it wouldnt waste a thread on this site and have all related HTML questions here.
So does anyone have an answer??
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 11:13 am
by Neo
Well i guess i dont need that answered now. But i have another question about online web forms. Is there any way to create an online form using only HTML and/or javascript etc without server side programming?
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 11:18 am
by AGI1122
Yeah it is possible to make javascript parse the info in a form.
Although, I am not sure if it can be done with POST data sent from the browser... I do know however that javascript can read data in the input fields of a form and change them etc... not actually submitted... but still you could just make a button that executes javascript telling it to read the form data instead of an actual submittal button.
But javascript is still a bit new to me, so best to wait for someone else to give actual code examples.
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 1:27 pm
by Curufir
Yes, you can do all the parsing on the client side if you so desire (Although if you were thinking of security instead of simple parsing you wouldn't want to).
Just set up the form normally, leave out the submit button. Create something else that can take an onclick event (Button/graphic/whatever, most things can) to act as your submit button. When they click it parse all the data using the form object, then use the submit form action. Doesn't matter if you use GET or POST because the form data won't be submitted until the form submit action.
If you desperately need an example I'll provide one, but it's really very simple.
Re:HTML Question
Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 11:08 am
by Neo
I'm not worried about the parsing (i can manage that
). What i want to know is how i can store the sent data in some file on the server or maybe even send it to an email account or do something else??