Page 1 of 1
Magneto version 0.2
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:19 am
by codemastersnake
Hi all!
I have released another version of Magneto with some changes.
please review it.
Download Link
P.S: JamesM, It's been released specially for you!
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:33 am
by JamesM
Hi,
It looks very good! I managed to break the shell, though...
See attached screenshot.
It was done by mashing two keys at the same time - in this case 'k' and 'l'.
Other than that it looks awesome - does the shell run in user mode?
Cheers,
James
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 am
by codemastersnake
JamesM wrote:
It looks very good! I managed to break the shell, though...
See attached screenshot.
It was done by mashing two keys at the same time - in this case 'k' and 'l'.
Other than that it looks awesome - does the shell run in user mode?
Yeah I know that shell is breaking, May be it's due to the program logic. I'll try to fix it in next version.
As far as Shell is concerned, It's not running in user mode but I have programmed it like this so that whenever I need I can shift it to user mode.
As a matter of fact I still have to implement paging. And I am really having hard times doing that. Therefore I am developing other parts of system in the way so that when paging gets implemented I can shift processes to user mode.
Thanks for the review though.
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:20 am
by lukem95
im about to test it, but i have to ask, how come your kernel needs 4MB of RAM?
my kernel is a fair bit more advanced than yours (i don't mean this in any negative way, just that iv been working on it longer than you) and it uses about 1.3MB.
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:34 am
by inflater
Good work. Apart from the "mem" command doesnt work, everything seems to be fine
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:08 pm
by jerryleecooper
Your timer only runs at 100hz?
Mine runs at 2500 hz.
Does your processes still runs smootly at 100hz?
ABOUT the magneto, when I type 'system' it display the memory information and when I type 'mem' it says Unknown command.
about the timer, I dont know if its my computer on which I tested it that was faster than the one on which I try my own OS on, but Magneto sure seems more responding on bochs than my own OS on bochs, probably a timer issue, my timer runs at 2500 hz.
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:32 pm
by codemastersnake
jerryleecooper wrote:Your timer only runs at 100hz?
Mine runs at 2500 hz.
Does your processes still runs smootly at 100hz?
ABOUT the magneto, when I type 'system' it display the memory information and when I type 'mem' it says Unknown command.
about the timer, I dont know if its my computer on which I tested it that was faster than the one on which I try my own OS on, but Magneto sure seems more responding on bochs than my own OS on bochs, probably a timer issue, my timer runs at 2500 hz.
I am sorry to say that My OS does not support Memory Management or Processing. I am still into their developement. In fact my next goal is Paging.
Hope that you people will see it in next version.
P.S. If you people have some real good tutorials with some throw away code writen in C++ then please can you give me the link.
All the tutes that I have are in C and are very OS specific. I want something more general So that I can merge it into my OS with greater control.
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:09 pm
by JamesM
jerryleecooper wrote:Your timer only runs at 100hz?
Mine runs at 2500 hz.
Does your processes still runs smootly at 100hz?
ABOUT the magneto, when I type 'system' it display the memory information and when I type 'mem' it says Unknown command.
about the timer, I dont know if its my computer on which I tested it that was faster than the one on which I try my own OS on, but Magneto sure seems more responding on bochs than my own OS on bochs, probably a timer issue, my timer runs at 2500 hz.
The linux scheduler runs at 100Hz. (The timer interrupts quicker than this, though iirc).
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:48 am
by xyzzy
The frequency can be configured in Kconfig. You can set it to 100, 250, 300 or 1000 IIRC.
(Yay, my 100th post!
)
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:47 am
by pcmattman
about the timer, I dont know if its my computer on which I tested it that was faster than the one on which I try my own OS on, but Magneto sure seems more responding on bochs than my own OS on bochs, probably a timer issue, my timer runs at 2500 hz.
Probably because at 2500 hz you're spending a LOT of time processing task switching
.
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 7:08 am
by jerryleecooper
I have lowered my timer to 1000hz. I find it a bit more responsive in bochs, I didnt tried it in qemu yet.
That my timer was running at 2500hz, it can explain some problem I had with tasking issues. Like some tasks not having its fair amount of time to run. I will put a commandline option to change the timer frequency, so the user will be able to tune it. 50hz to 2500hz.