Page 2 of 2

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 6:42 pm
by Warrior
Looking very good, nice job :).

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 1:11 am
by intel_breaker
"NEVER write big IRQ handlers and collect IRQs from a device!!! That?s not possible! [...]
The Probblem is that the PIC can?t store IRQs from the same device. If the IRQ handler still working and a new IRQ(from the same device) is activated then you got a problem " - Osbios from osdev.org 8)

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 1:15 am
by intel_breaker
New iso image didn't works too.... ;)

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 1:42 am
by distantvoices
Have started cdrom.686.iso in vmware 4.5.1.

works perfectly. Have started two instances of mpeg2decode. This causes the playback to lag a bit but that's not important I reckon :-)

Here's a screenie:

Image

Important: you have to start spoon from cdrom IDE primary slave (device 0:1) in order to get it running correctly.

beneath thats the shell causing a pagefault after me issueing the command "ls" five or six times. (it's scrolling up the second time - first time scrolling does no harm)

Image


stay safe :-)

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 2:23 am
by intel_breaker
Yes, if i run spoon from the primary slave cdrom it works, but when i play trailer, there was a real exception (invalid opcode) :(

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 3:08 am
by intel_breaker
:o It works, when i run it that:
mpeg2decode -b /spoon/system/media/1.mpg -o6 8)
I must ported this program on the my system ;D

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 3:18 am
by durand
Excellent. This is progress :) I'm feeling better. .

Sandman/intel_breaker.. I definitely think it's the CPU then :) It's attempting to use some newer features which I'm not checking for and, it's causing an invalid opcode. I don't recall ever checking for AMD specific support. This is my downfall. :) The Athlon ISO is built specifically for all those enhanced AMD features and the mpeg2decode app will make use of those because it's doing a lot of math.

Beyond infinity, thanks :) IDE 0:1 and I didn't even realise! I'll revise the ATAPI detection code as well. It is also a little suspicious.

Umm.. that shell thing is a bug in my command line history handling. I'm doing something wrong, but I'll fix it. It's just a simple coding problem and not anything critical. (in the sense that it requires major work).

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 3:24 am
by durand
Sandman wrote: :o It works, when i run it that:
mpeg2decode -b /spoon/system/media/1.mpg -o6 8)
I must ported this program on the my system ;D
Excellent again! -f -r are math related options. Tada. That further supports the AMD math thing.

It's easy to port :) I link it against my C99 almost-compatible libc and I just provided a little hook into a GUI Window. It's actually very easy. :)

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 7:04 am
by Kim
I tested spoon under bochs and when running the gui i can't move the mouse but the clock looks to work.

I get these bochs warnings when cdrom booting is used:

Code: Select all

Device: [CPU0 ]
Message: allow_io(): TR:io_base (0) <= 103

Device: [HD   ]
Message: IO write(0x01f0): buffer_index >= PACKET_SIZE
[tt]
# configuration file generated by Bochs
config_interface: textconfig
display_library: win32
megs: 128
romimage: file="BIOS-bochs-latest", address=0xf0000
vgaromimage: file="VGABIOS-lgpl-latest"
boot: cdrom
floppya: 1_44="a:", status=inserted
ata0: enabled=1, ioaddr1=0x1f0, ioaddr2=0x3f0, irq=14
ata0-slave: type=cdrom, path="spoon.iso", status=inserted, biosdetect=auto, model="Spoon CDROM"
ata1: enabled=0
ata2: enabled=0
ata3: enabled=0
parport1: enabled=0, file="parport.out"
parport2: enabled=0
com1: enabled=0, mode=null, dev=""
com2: enabled=0
com3: enabled=0
com4: enabled=0
i440fxsupport: enabled=0
usb1: enabled=0, ioaddr=0xff80, port1=, port2=
sb16: enabled=0
floppy_bootsig_check: disabled=0
vga_update_interval: 300000
vga: extension=vbe
keyboard_serial_delay: 250
keyboard_paste_delay: 100000
floppy_command_delay: 500
ips: 2500000
text_snapshot_check: 0
mouse: enabled=0
private_colormap: enabled=0
clock: sync=none, time0=local
ne2k: enabled=0
pnic: enabled=0
# no loader
log: bochsout.txt
logprefix: %t%e%d
debugger_log: -
panic: action=ask
error: action=report
info: action=report
debug: action=ignore
pass: action=fatal
keyboard_mapping: enabled=0, map=
keyboard_type: mf
user_shortcut: keys=none
# no cmosimage
gdbstub: enabled=0, port=8383, text_base=0, data_base=0, bss_base=0
[/tt]

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:27 am
by durand
hi.

Thanks for testing :) I don't use Bochs, so I don't know too much about it but I did a quick search. Forgive me if I'm wrong, but:
mouse: enabled=0
Are you sure the mouse is enabled? Logically, I would think that this should be "enabled=1". I did a search on the net and I found different configs, some with 0 and some with 1.

Durand.

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:59 am
by Kim
I just tested with mouse: enabled=1 it just enables the mouse at start. Its the same as pressing the mouse icon in bochs.
But the test had the same result, mouse didn't work.
But i think its more a problem with bochs :s it isn't the first os i tested on it that didn't have a working mouse input.

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 3:14 am
by durand
Yeah :/ Precisely the reason I don't test with a emulator or virtualizer. They have their quirks which mess you around and you could spend hours debugging something which doesn't make sense and it turns out that it's just Bochs/Qemu/VMWare.

Or.. you could develop for weeks using Bochs/Qemu/VMWare and the first boot on real hardware will fail. Why? They could be doing something extremely silly.

VMWare versions less than 4 never used to handle CR3 correctly during task switches. Tsk.

Bochs, Qemu don't support features out of the box - so I regard them as unsupported. Why must it be so difficult for people to test? (Recompile bochs with --with-feature1 --with-feature2. Use the VBE bios file xxxx.bin with Qemu).

The easy solution: burn to CD, boot on a real computer. No mess. No fuss. Just a reboot and 1 CDWR required. Gauranteed to have 100% hardware behaviour.

If something doesn't work, I'm 99% gauranteed that it's my fault. :)

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:35 pm
by jicama
hi, all:
I ported this program on the my OS.
it's the screenshot:
Image

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:55 am
by durand
Awesome! it's a cool little application that's mostly written very nicely.. so it's portable. Did you have a lot of trouble?

Re:spoon - 25.07.2005

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 5:25 am
by jicama
it's based on spoon version's code. I just modified spoon.cpp . durand, thanks for your work!