Page 2 of 2

Re: yaOSp 0.0.4

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:42 pm
by giszo
Thank you for testing, clange.
clange wrote:Hydrogen (AMD Athlon 1250 MHz, some NVidia chipset):
It boots up and loads the GUI. The text scrolls too fast to be able to see if everything is successfull. The mouse doesn't work so I couldn't test any further. If you need more info about the hardware I can gather and provide it.
This mouse issue looks interesting, I'll contact you in private for more information and debug help if it's ok for you.
clange wrote:Helium (Compaq Presario 5838):
Everything works perfectly. Only one small thing I found: shutdown -> halt doesn't work (my implementation doesn't work either using the method from the wiki).
I'm using the same APM method, too.
clange wrote:Lithium (IBM ThinkPad A20m):
Halts after writing "Detected VESA 2.0 compatible graphics card." Also writes "pata: pata_port_wait(): Error! (status=51)" right after "Loading module: partitions".
Has a ATI Rage P/M Mobility AGP 2x graphics card.
The only reason I could tell you for this is that the proper graphics mode is not found. In this case you should see something like this: "Failed to select proper graphicas driver and/or mode!"
clange wrote:VirtualBox:
- CPU indicator doesn't seem to work under virtual box.
- It seems that the time is going too fast. It quickly gets ahead the time displayed by Windows.
This VirtualBox timing issue is known and will be fixed.
clange wrote:Generel:
Clicking the desktop background doesn't hide the start menu. Might not be a bug but by design.
1. Open start menu
2. Click on desktop
Expected result: that the start menu is hidden
Actual result: nothing happens.
This is working as expected for now. The behaviour you described will be implemented in the next release. :)

Re: yaOSp 0.0.4

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 4:44 pm
by giszo
Thanks for your testing too, Combuster.
Combuster wrote:- Typing exit into the terminal doesn't close the window
This is a known issue, will be fixed in the next release.
Combuster wrote:- When clicking shutdown->halt, VirtualPC reports a crash (error code 192) and wants to reboot rather than close. The screen still displays the desktop and shutdown window, with the halt button in the down state.
Maybe this is related to the halt issue also reported by clange.

Re: yaOSp 0.0.4

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:58 pm
by cxzuk
Heya, There is a tiny bug in uptime.c

Code: Select all

    min = uptime % 60;
    uptime /= 60;
 
    hour = uptime % 24;
    day = ( uint32_t )( uptime / 24 );
 
    printf( "Uptime:" );
 
    if ( uptime > 0 ) {
        printf( " %u day", ( uint32_t )uptime );
        if ( uptime > 1 ) {
            printf("s");
        }
    }
should be..

Code: Select all

 
...
    if ( day > 0 ) {
        printf( " %u day", ( uint32_t )day );
        if ( day > 1 ) {
            printf("s");
        }
    }
The Day count matched the hour count (I have it running in the background in qemu to see how long it will stay running). =]

MikeyB

Re: yaOSp 0.0.4

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:35 am
by giszo
Thanks for your bug report, cxzok! I've fixed that problem. :)

Re: yaOSp 0.0.4

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:02 am
by qw
giszo wrote:
Hobbes wrote:I can't mount the hard disk... What arguments exactly should I give to the mount command?
First you have to load the ext2 driver as it is not loaded automatically. You can do it with the following command:

Code: Select all

load_module ext2
After this you have to select which disk you would like to mount. You can list the available ones with this:

Code: Select all

list /device/storage
Items starting with "od" are optical drives, and "hd" ones are hard disks.

You also have to create a mount point where you will mount the device:

Code: Select all

makedir /mnt
... and now you can issue the mount command. Here is an example:

Code: Select all

mount /device/storage/hd0 /mnt --filesystem=ext2
Note that /temp is mounted with ramfs, so you can use that folder to write to, if this was the reason why you tried to mount a hard disk.
Thanks for the reply, but it still doesn't work. I am testing in Virtual PC. The (virtrual) hard disk is FAT formatted. My guess is that it has to be ext2 formatted?

Re: yaOSp 0.0.4

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:48 am
by giszo
Hobbes wrote:Thanks for the reply, but it still doesn't work. I am testing in Virtual PC. The (virtrual) hard disk is FAT formatted. My guess is that it has to be ext2 formatted?
FAT filesystem is not yet supported by yaOSp. The supported ones are iso9660 and ext2, so the answer is: yes, it should be ext2 formatted if you'd like to use it. :)

Re: yaOSp 0.0.4

Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:47 am
by neoclaw
Is it true that the current svn version can't save files on the harddrive? I know the project is still in the early development stages, but I hope the next version will be able to write text files to the disk, and hope for better networking :)
Keep up the good work ! =D>

Re: yaOSp 0.0.4

Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:22 am
by giszo
neoclaw wrote:Is it true that the current svn version can't save files on the harddrive?
No, it's not true. The current SVN version is able to write (text) files to an ext2 formatted hard drive or partition.