My TI-Basic Compiler

Programming, for all ages and all languages.
Post Reply
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

My TI-Basic Compiler

Post by pcmattman »

I've written a simple TI-Basic compiler.

It basically tokenises TI-Basic programs written on a computer into the calculator's program format, which can then be executed on the calculator.

It's site is up at [url]http//www.sf.net/projects/tibasic[/url].

It's made for those with TI-83, TI-83+ and TI-84+ calculators, and I need testing for it so I know what to fix before I write the decompiler (and add in some more features).
User avatar
AndrewAPrice
Member
Member
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: USA (and Australia)

Re: My TI-Basic Compiler

Post by AndrewAPrice »

pcmattman wrote:It's made for those with TI-83, TI-83+ and TI-84+ calculators, and I need testing for it so I know what to fix before I write the decompiler (and add in some more features).
Are you writing a compiler for a calculator for which you do not own? [-X
My OS is Perception.
User avatar
Alboin
Member
Member
Posts: 1466
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Noricum and Pannonia

Re: My TI-Basic Compiler

Post by Alboin »

MessiahAndrw wrote:
pcmattman wrote:It's made for those with TI-83, TI-83+ and TI-84+ calculators, and I need testing for it so I know what to fix before I write the decompiler (and add in some more features).
Are you writing a compiler for a calculator for which you do not own? [-X
You could use an emulator...Although, if you don't own one, you would be without a ROM...Maybe you could start the Free TI-83 ROM project...
C8H10N4O2 | #446691 | Trust the nodes.
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

Post by pcmattman »

I own a TI-84+, but I would like others to test the compiler. They don't know it as well as I do and are more likely to find bugs.
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Post by Combuster »

I own a TI-83, but I lack the hardware necessary to link it to the computer.

Besides, if I want to run games or anything more serious on it i just write it manually myself. That and I like the "autocompletion" feature present on this thing :twisted:
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

Post by pcmattman »

I just uploaded the Linux port of the compiler...
User avatar
Brynet-Inc
Member
Member
Posts: 2426
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:29 pm
Libera.chat IRC: brynet
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Brynet-Inc »

pcmattman wrote:I just uploaded the Linux port of the compiler...
I think you should know that the archive you uploaded is named linux_tibasic_1_1.tar.gz but the actual archive is in the RAR file format.

Some people cannot use that format.. Can you actually release a tarball that's gzipped instead of renaming a RAR?

(Does the archive contain the source.. or is it a Linux binary?)
Image
Twitter: @canadianbryan. Award by smcerm, I stole it. Original was larger.
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

Post by pcmattman »

Whoops... I just knew something was wrong, I was rushed so I didn't properly compress it (rushed job).

It contains the binary.

I'll release a gzipped binary ASAP...
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

Post by pcmattman »

Brynet-Inc wrote:
pcmattman wrote:I just uploaded the Linux port of the compiler...
I think you should know that the archive you uploaded is named linux_tibasic_1_1.tar.gz but the actual archive is in the RAR file format.

Some people cannot use that format.. Can you actually release a tarball that's gzipped instead of renaming a RAR?

(Does the archive contain the source.. or is it a Linux binary?)
Ok, the real tarred and gzipped version is up now. Sorry about that!
User avatar
Alboin
Member
Member
Posts: 1466
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Noricum and Pannonia

Post by Alboin »

I can't test the output on an actual calculator, but it does run and seems to output appropriate data.

I'm on a 64-bit Gentoo 2006.1 box. (Too lazy to upgrade.)
C8H10N4O2 | #446691 | Trust the nodes.
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

Post by pcmattman »

It works on 64-bit? It's made for 32-bit... Now I'll have to test it on 32-bit linux.

*Pulls out Ubuntu live CD*
User avatar
Alboin
Member
Member
Posts: 1466
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Noricum and Pannonia

Post by Alboin »

pcmattman wrote:It works on 64-bit? It's made for 32-bit... Now I'll have to test it on 32-bit linux.
64-bit Linux can still run 32-bit programs.
C8H10N4O2 | #446691 | Trust the nodes.
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

Post by pcmattman »

That I did not know. Interesting.
Post Reply