How to compile bochs ?

Programming, for all ages and all languages.
Post Reply
User avatar
bscreator
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:22 am

How to compile bochs ?

Post by bscreator »

Hello,

I installed Bochs from the packages and additionally i want to install a second instance of Bochs with Debugging-enabled, like in the Document from http://wiki.osdev.org/Bochs. I used Bochs 2.6 and tried it with the following commands :

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install build-essential

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libgtk2.0-dev

Code: Select all

gunzip -c bochs-2.6.tar.gz | tar -xvf -

Code: Select all

./configure --enable-smp --enable-cpu-level=6 --enable-all-optimizations --enable-x86-64 --enable-pci --enable-vmx --enable-debugger --enable-disasm --enable-debugger-gui --enable-logging --enable-fpu --enable-3dnow --enable-cdrom --enable-x86-debugger --enable-iodebug --disable-plugins --disable-docbook --with-x --with-x11 --with-term
But it failed with the following error : Curses library not found: tried curses, ncurses, termlib and pdcurses.
And so I can't execute make and also not make-install.

What I am doing wrong ?

Thanks for all your help!
User avatar
iansjack
Member
Member
Posts: 4685
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:07 am
Location: Chichester, UK

Re: How to compile bochs ?

Post by iansjack »

You haven't installed the curses library?
Nable
Member
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:35 am

Re: How to compile bochs ?

Post by Nable »

One should install development packages for all dependencies. I don't remember the whole list for Bochs but for ncurses development you should install libncurses5-dev.
Kevin
Member
Member
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:11 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How to compile bochs ?

Post by Kevin »

I'm pretty sure that Debain has a bochs package, so you could make use of that and do something like this:

Code: Select all

apt-get build-dep bochs
Developer of tyndur - community OS of Lowlevel (German)
embryo2
Member
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 5:03 am

Re: How to compile bochs ?

Post by embryo2 »

It's much more interesting how to compile bochs under Windows.
My previous account (embryo) was accidentally deleted, so I have no chance but to use something new. But may be it was a good lesson about software reliability :)
onlyonemac
Member
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 2:59 pm

Re: How to compile bochs ?

Post by onlyonemac »

embryo2 wrote:It's much more interesting how to compile bochs under Windows.
...although irrelevant.
When you start writing an OS you do the minimum possible to get the x86 processor in a usable state, then you try to get as far away from it as possible.

Syntax checkup:
Wrong: OS's, IRQ's, zero'ing
Right: OSes, IRQs, zeroing
User avatar
Nutterts
Member
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 5:33 pm
Libera.chat IRC: Nutterts
Location: Drenthe, Netherlands

Re: How to compile bochs ?

Post by Nutterts »

bscreator wrote:Curses library not found: tried curses, ncurses, termlib and pdcurses.
apt-get install ncurses-dev

... or something like that... try 'apt-cache search ncurses' to find the exact package name if the above fails.
"Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining it will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live." - John F. Woods

Failed project: GoOS - https://github.com/nutterts/GoOS
User avatar
bscreator
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:22 am

Re: How to compile bochs ?

Post by bscreator »

...although irrelevant.
Exactly
I don't remember the whole list for Bochs but for ncurses development you should install libncurses5-dev
Exactly

After installing the necessary libraries the ./configure-command was going fine, but make broke with an Error. I asked Google and i found, that you have to add "LDFLAGS='-pthread'" to your ./configure-command.

So i run ./configure with

Code: Select all

./configure --enable-debugger --enable-disasm LDFLAGS='pthread'

Code: Select all

make
And all runs smoothly :D

So, for all of yours who want to compile Bochs by yourself, don't forget LDFLAGS='pthread' !!!

Thanks for all your help !
bsc
Post Reply