Vesa error

Discussions on more advanced topics such as monolithic vs micro-kernels, transactional memory models, and paging vs segmentation should go here. Use this forum to expand and improve the wiki!
Post Reply
Yazimat
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:47 am

Vesa error

Post by Yazimat »

Hello osdever
I have a problem to execute my vesa mode is as follows

Code: Select all

_Vesa:
mov ax, 4F02h
mov bx, 103h ;800x600
int 10h
here is my prototype-C

Code: Select all

void Vesa();
but when i execute my kernel with grub its blocs idon't understand
(sorry for my bad english) :B
Mikemk
Member
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:27 pm

Re: Vesa error

Post by Mikemk »

I'll give you a list:
  1. Standardized mode numbers are deprecated and should not be used.
  2. You are calling a real mode interrupt from inside protected mode (GRUB puts you in pmode)
    • If you are using v8086, it should work, but based on your question, I don't think you know how
Programming is 80% Math, 20% Grammar, and 10% Creativity <--- Do not make fun of my joke!
If you're new, check this out.
Yazimat
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:47 am

Re: Vesa error

Post by Yazimat »

you a reason I do not know and do not drink how: s
if you could explain it to me would be cool
Mikemk
Member
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:27 pm

Re: Vesa error

Post by Mikemk »

Yazimat wrote:you a reason I do not know and do not drink how: s
What?
if you could explain it to me would be cool
m12 wrote:I'll give you a list:
  1. Standardized mode numbers are deprecated and should not be used.
Self-explanatory
[*]You are calling a real mode interrupt from inside protected mode (GRUB puts you in pmode)
  • If you are using v8086, it should work, but based on your question, I don't think you know how
[/list]
A great website:
wiki.png
wiki.png (2.83 KiB) Viewed 3001 times
Programming is 80% Math, 20% Grammar, and 10% Creativity <--- Do not make fun of my joke!
If you're new, check this out.
Yazimat
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:47 am

Re: Vesa error

Post by Yazimat »

okey i'm go to look but i found an other code in asm at this link >>http://f.osdev.org/viewtopic.php?t=19198&p=149837
Post Reply