i believe i posted something about this last year, but it is much improved now. i've got a NES emulator i wrote in C, and i'd like to hear from anybody who wants to test it out.
link is http://rubbermallet.org/moarnes-test.zip
you can't customize the controls yet, but:
enter = start
right shift = select
Z = B
X = A
arrow keys are the d-pad.
F = toggle fullscreen
run moarnes.exe from the command prompt with the ROM filename on the command line, or drag and drop a NES ROM on to the exe in explorer. any fast pentium 2 or better should be enough to run it at full speed. compatibility could be better, but just about all of the most common mappers are supported. most games should work.
want to test my NES emulator?
- Brynet-Inc
- Member
- Posts: 2426
- Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:29 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: brynet
- Location: Canada
- Contact:
Re: want to test my NES emulator?
Windows binaries, game console emulation, wrong site.
Re: want to test my NES emulator?
i thought it wouldn't be out of place in "general programming"
maybe a mod wants to move it to general ramblings?
maybe a mod wants to move it to general ramblings?
Re: want to test my NES emulator?
Since this website isn't a democracy, you can safely ignore the opinion of any person that does not work for the owner. If you feel that your thread belongs in General Programming, that viewpoint is just as valid as the opinion of any other random person. Let people complain - the only person whose opinion really matters in the end is the owner.
- piranha
- Member
- Posts: 1391
- Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 7:42 pm
- Location: Unknown. Momentum is pretty certain, however.
- Contact:
Re: want to test my NES emulator?
Seems to work at full speed. I tried Castlevania on it and the graphics are a bit messed up. The enemies and player look fine until you hit an enemy. Then they seem to turn into half a bat. The hearts look like cherries. The weapons don't really look like anything...
But its certainly playable.
-JL
But its certainly playable.
-JL
SeaOS: Adding VT-x, networking, and ARM support
dbittman on IRC, @danielbittman on twitter
https://dbittman.github.io
dbittman on IRC, @danielbittman on twitter
https://dbittman.github.io
Re: want to test my NES emulator?
thanks for trying. yeah, castlevania has issues with what seems to be selecting the right pattern table regarding what you mentioned. some games have little glitches like that, many work perfectly though. for example, if you give megaman 2 or contra a try you won't be able to tell a difference from playing a real copy on a real NES.
Re: want to test my NES emulator?
Error messages are written to a file called stdout.txt, that's strange.
Triangle wave generator does not turn off.
Square wave and noise volume control does not work.
Square wave sweep mode does not work.
DMC channel does not work.
VScroll updates do not work.
Sound is far behind video.
Discoloured tiles in SMB3 at map screen after starting a new game.
Deja Vu shows gray screen.
Shadowgate crashes after title screen.
Somari shows gray screen.
Monster in my pocket shows gray screen.
Aladdin 4 shows gray screen.
Flintstones shows gray screen.
TMNT2 has sprites cut off at the middle of the screen, and graphics are garbled.
Wrath of the black manta has garbled intro slideshow, and menu has discolourations.
Arch rivals slows down and flickers.
Triangle wave generator does not turn off.
Square wave and noise volume control does not work.
Square wave sweep mode does not work.
DMC channel does not work.
VScroll updates do not work.
Sound is far behind video.
Discoloured tiles in SMB3 at map screen after starting a new game.
Deja Vu shows gray screen.
Shadowgate crashes after title screen.
Somari shows gray screen.
Monster in my pocket shows gray screen.
Aladdin 4 shows gray screen.
Flintstones shows gray screen.
TMNT2 has sprites cut off at the middle of the screen, and graphics are garbled.
Wrath of the black manta has garbled intro slideshow, and menu has discolourations.
Arch rivals slows down and flickers.
- Love4Boobies
- Member
- Posts: 2111
- Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:36 pm
- Location: Bucharest, Romania
Re: want to test my NES emulator?
Impressive, I like what I see. I tested it with Super Mario Bros. and I only noticed a few problems:
- The main menu wasn't rendered correctly.
- The sound was sort of messed up.
- The text at the top of the screen was sort of blinking.
- Things going out of left side of the screen are cut off too soon.
- Not sure what I did at some point but the A key was stuck. Pausing/unpausing seems to have fixed it.
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons.", Popular Mechanics (1949)
[ Project UDI ]
[ Project UDI ]
- Love4Boobies
- Member
- Posts: 2111
- Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:36 pm
- Location: Bucharest, Romania
Re: want to test my NES emulator?
As of version 1.2.14 (IIRC), the default behavior of SDL for Windows is to redirect stdout and stderr to text files in the current directory. The only way around this is to rebuild Windows using the --enable-stdio-redirect=no configuration flag.Gigasoft wrote:Error messages are written to a file called stdout.txt, that's strange.
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons.", Popular Mechanics (1949)
[ Project UDI ]
[ Project UDI ]