TBOS32 0.1.3 released
-
- Member
- Posts: 199
- Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:44 pm
Re: TBOS32 0.1.0 released
Troy, my post detailed in not so polite ways that it seems the number of characters between the first 'k' after the command prompt and the single-quote is exactly 255. I'll leave you to tell what that exactly means.
- Steve the Pirate
- Member
- Posts: 152
- Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:01 am
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
- Contact:
Re: TBOS32 0.1.0 released
I took a quick look at the code of your OS, but I haven't tried it yet.
One thing though - why do you have backup files (ones ending with ~ characters, eg. something.c~) and object files in your SVN? It's a lot cleaner to leave these out imo.
One thing though - why do you have backup files (ones ending with ~ characters, eg. something.c~) and object files in your SVN? It's a lot cleaner to leave these out imo.
- Troy Martin
- Member
- Posts: 1686
- Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:40 pm
- Location: Langley, Vancouver, BC, Canada
- Contact:
Re: TBOS32 0.1.0 released
*glares at GEdit and his makefile*
Thanks for all the (mostly) positive replies! TBOS32 0.1.1 is taking a little bit more time than expected, as I have the second half of my final exams today. I bet I could have the bugfixes done tonight. Most of the warnings have been taken care of.
@Steve: I'm not using the SVN anymore. <flameguard>
Thanks for all the (mostly) positive replies! TBOS32 0.1.1 is taking a little bit more time than expected, as I have the second half of my final exams today. I bet I could have the bugfixes done tonight. Most of the warnings have been taken care of.
@Steve: I'm not using the SVN anymore. <flameguard>
- NickJohnson
- Member
- Posts: 1249
- Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:11 pm
- Location: Sunnyvale, California
Re: TBOS32 0.1.0 released
It's kind of odd to make someone use sudo to just compile it. I would separate the compilation and image creation in the makefile. i.e. "make" compiles, but "make test" compiles and tests, and requires sudo/losetup/etc. Then once you want to compile and use it in a real system, you won't have to modify things to remove/bypass the test scripts. I also have a "sudo make install", which puts my OS in my laptop's boot menu, if I'm feeling confident.Troy Martin wrote:Thanks! Yeah, num and caps support haven't been done up yet.earlz wrote:I don't like having a sudo in regular 'make' (and I don't use Linux, so it doesn't even work for me.)
num-lock doesn't work.(like I can't use the number pad for numbers)
other than that. Nice work
No sudo? Whoa... Well, it's needed for losetup and mount, unfortunately.
Edit: fixed screwed up quoting
Re: TBOS32 0.1.0 released
so........... troy how 0.1.1 coming?
i think when i go 16 bit protected mode or 32 i might use C and not asm. (i am not really good at pmode in asm)
i can go into pmode using asm, but i have problems understanding somethings(not going into pmode) but doing things in pmode(something i cant do) but i can try learning i asm first, if nothing works, i might skip C and stay in real mode
i think when i go 16 bit protected mode or 32 i might use C and not asm. (i am not really good at pmode in asm)
i can go into pmode using asm, but i have problems understanding somethings(not going into pmode) but doing things in pmode(something i cant do) but i can try learning i asm first, if nothing works, i might skip C and stay in real mode
- Troy Martin
- Member
- Posts: 1686
- Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:40 pm
- Location: Langley, Vancouver, BC, Canada
- Contact:
Re: TBOS32 0.1.0 released
Pretty good so far, I have about an hour to work on it before going back to school for my science final..GhostXoPCorp wrote:so........... troy how 0.1.1 coming?
Real mode is limiting; I'd suggest against it for any serious OS work.
Re: TBOS32 0.1.0 released
pmode really worth the work? i mean i just got the feel for rmode. as for real mode, i could just try and construct a memory manager for accessing not just 640k of memory. but alittle more.
- Troy Martin
- Member
- Posts: 1686
- Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:40 pm
- Location: Langley, Vancouver, BC, Canada
- Contact:
Re: TBOS32 0.1.1 released
Protected mode is definitely worth it. Not only is it protected (hehe) but you can fine-tune drivers because they're your own creation and not part of the BIOS. You, the kernel developer, have the ultimate control over the entire 32-bit x86 platform.
Announcement: 0.1.1 is out with bugs fixed as per Ghost's and Blue's reports! Thanks guys! The object and backup files have also been removed, and the initrd has a more sensible file list (woot for changelogs, hehe.)
Announcement: 0.1.1 is out with bugs fixed as per Ghost's and Blue's reports! Thanks guys! The object and backup files have also been removed, and the initrd has a more sensible file list (woot for changelogs, hehe.)
-
- Member
- Posts: 199
- Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:44 pm
Re: TBOS32 0.1.1 released
Did you actually fix the buffer overflow yet?Troy Martin wrote:Protected mode is definitely worth it. Not only is it protected (hehe) but you can fine-tune drivers because they're your own creation and not part of the BIOS. You, the kernel developer, have the ultimate control over the entire 32-bit x86 platform.
Announcement: 0.1.1 is out with bugs fixed as per Ghost's and Blue's reports! Thanks guys! The object and backup files have also been removed, and the initrd has a more sensible file list (woot for changelogs, hehe.)
- Troy Martin
- Member
- Posts: 1686
- Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:40 pm
- Location: Langley, Vancouver, BC, Canada
- Contact:
Re: TBOS32 0.1.1 released
Should be fixed as a byproduct of my primary bugfix in get_string.
-
- Member
- Posts: 199
- Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:44 pm
Re: TBOS32 0.1.1 released
Please tell me that get_string is something in user space. If you have buffer overflows like that in kernel space I refuse to look at anything you produce, ever again.Troy Martin wrote:Should be fixed as a byproduct of my primary bugfix in get_string.
- NickJohnson
- Member
- Posts: 1249
- Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:11 pm
- Location: Sunnyvale, California
Re: TBOS32 0.1.1 released
I doubt he intends to have the real shell running in kernelspace (hopefully), so it's not like it matters if it gets buffer overflows. I think anyone reserves the right to write crappy test programs during initial development. Why are you so grumpy today? I thought you already had your coffee .syntropy wrote:Please tell me that get_string is something in user space. If you have buffer overflows like that in kernel space I refuse to look at anything you produce, ever again.Troy Martin wrote:Should be fixed as a byproduct of my primary bugfix in get_string.
-
- Member
- Posts: 199
- Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:44 pm
Re: TBOS32 0.1.1 released
See the tacos thread.NickJohnson wrote:I doubt he intends to have the real shell running in kernelspace (hopefully), so it's not like it matters if it gets buffer overflows. I think anyone reserves the right to write crappy test programs during initial development. Why are you so grumpy today? I thought you already had your coffee .syntropy wrote:Please tell me that get_string is something in user space. If you have buffer overflows like that in kernel space I refuse to look at anything you produce, ever again.Troy Martin wrote:Should be fixed as a byproduct of my primary bugfix in get_string.
- Troy Martin
- Member
- Posts: 1686
- Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:40 pm
- Location: Langley, Vancouver, BC, Canada
- Contact:
Re: TBOS32 0.1.1 released
Exactly. mush is designed to be a fallback shell, in case whichever program that has been specified as the shell cannot be found by the kernel.NickJohnson wrote:I doubt he intends to have the real shell running in kernelspace (hopefully), so it's not like it matters if it gets buffer overflows. I think anyone reserves the right to write crappy test programs during initial development. Why are you so grumpy today? I thought you already had your coffee .syntropy wrote:Please tell me that get_string is something in user space. If you have buffer overflows like that in kernel space I refuse to look at anything you produce, ever again.Troy Martin wrote:Should be fixed as a byproduct of my primary bugfix in get_string.