do you find any bugs?

This forums is for OS project announcements including project openings, new releases, update notices, test requests, and job openings (both paying and volunteer).
Post Reply
User avatar
xyjamepa
Member
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:59 am

do you find any bugs?

Post by xyjamepa »

Hi,

here's a floppy image of my real mode os,it supports FAT12
a shell seperated from the kernel,some int 21h functions so,
it can load and execute programs.
It's written fully with asm

would you please test it and tell me what do you think?
more testing means discovering more bugs,so please if you find one
let me know about it.

Thanx.
Attachments
os.zip
(18.62 KiB) Downloaded 108 times
The man who follows the crowd will usually get no further than the crowd.
The man who walks alone is likely to find himself in places
no one has ever been before.
User avatar
qw
Member
Member
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:48 am

Re: do you find any bugs?

Post by qw »

Code: Select all

                                                                               
A:\dir                                                                         
KERNEL  CNY                                                                    
CLI     CNY                                                                    
PITMAN  COM                                                                    
STAKAN  BIN                                                                    
TETRIS  COM                                                                    
                                                                               
A:\pitman                                                                      
bad command                                                                    
A:\tetris                                                                      
bad command                                                                    
A:\tetris.com                                                                  
bad command                                                                    
A:\TETRIS                                                                      
bad command                                                                    
A:\TETRIS.COM                                                                  
bad command                                                                    
A:\                                                                            
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
Could you post a manual please?

P.S. Also, the screen does not scroll when the bottom is reached. The program hangs when a dot is entered. Hitting CTRL-X makes the cursor go wild.
User avatar
xyjamepa
Member
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:59 am

Re: do you find any bugs?

Post by xyjamepa »

Hi Hobbes
Thank you for testing,
if you want to execute a program type:

Code: Select all

load 
program name
Also you could try help command.

Thanx.
The man who follows the crowd will usually get no further than the crowd.
The man who walks alone is likely to find himself in places
no one has ever been before.
neonek
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Białystok - Podlasie, Poland

Re: do you find any bugs?

Post by neonek »

Hi abuashraf!
I've tested your OS and what I found.
Dot character halts system. Most of commands freezes the system, Enter key unfreezes it. Hitting Enter on empty command line (A:\) just prints "bad command". I think it should print command prompt. Help command following md kk and dir commands makes file names printed without first letter e.g. should be KERNEL but was ERNEL and so on. load cli and read without parameters halts OS. There's no history in cli and up arrow key makes the cursor to go one position to the right. md dirname and entering numbers (not numpad) gives random ASCII chars. Entering very long command more than 11 lines causes chars to go uppercase.
Tested in VirtualBox 2.1.4 on Win Vista.
What I saw in 5 minutes testing.

Regards,
Mark
Please correct my English. If you'll find mistake please tell me about it so I can improve my English.
User avatar
xyjamepa
Member
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:59 am

Re: do you find any bugs?

Post by xyjamepa »

Hi,

the cli.cny is a littel stupid,and it needs alot of improvement anyway,
here's how you enter a command:
for examples let's try to make a new directory called folder:
md hit enter
folder hit enter

That's it.
The man who follows the crowd will usually get no further than the crowd.
The man who walks alone is likely to find himself in places
no one has ever been before.
ru2aqare
Member
Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 5:15 am
Location: Hungary

Re: do you find any bugs?

Post by ru2aqare »

abuashraf wrote:md hit enter
folder hit enter

That's it.
That's counterintuitive. Most - if not all - OSes use something along the lines of "md <space> <foldername> <hit enter>".
User avatar
xyjamepa
Member
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:59 am

Re: do you find any bugs?

Post by xyjamepa »

That's counterintuitive. Most - if not all - OSes use something along the lines of "md <space> <foldername> <hit enter>".
Yeb,I know, I'll change this as soon as I can.
Thank you guys for your help,I'm going to fix this bugs
you made me busy :wink:
The man who follows the crowd will usually get no further than the crowd.
The man who walks alone is likely to find himself in places
no one has ever been before.
Post Reply