Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
We have success! Attached is the contents of the screen. I've transcribed it by hand, so there might be a mistake or two (but I hope not).
- Attachments
-
- mojo-0.1.3-alpha memmap.txt
- Mojo 0.1.3-alpha screen contents
- (632 Bytes) Downloaded 117 times
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Great, I will start investigating. I'll post as soon as I have tackled this problem.
Again thanks for the effort.
Again thanks for the effort.
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Hi JackScott
I have improved my memory initialization routine and it should work now. I have uploaded the newest binaries. This time 2 versions: a normal version and one that will not obscure the kernel output during startup.
As far as I can tell the data you gave me was perfectly transcribed. But I forgot to print out the types previously. They are printed now. So if you find time to test it again could you please provide me with the types of the memory blocks too, thanks.
clange
I have improved my memory initialization routine and it should work now. I have uploaded the newest binaries. This time 2 versions: a normal version and one that will not obscure the kernel output during startup.
As far as I can tell the data you gave me was perfectly transcribed. But I forgot to print out the types previously. They are printed now. So if you find time to test it again could you please provide me with the types of the memory blocks too, thanks.
clange
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
I've tested the normal image now and it works fine. Nice work! I've played around a bit with the commands in the shell, they all seem to work fine with no problems (only limited of course by what is currently implemented). I played Tetris for a while, it seems to work alright. The 'full lines' thing never seemed to increment though. I'm not sure whether that is deliberate or a bug (I know I filled up about 10 lines at least).
If you still want me to test the version that prints a memory map, let me know.
If you still want me to test the version that prints a memory map, let me know.
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Hi
Glad to hear that it works. If you could just give me the type of the memory map entries. You should find them by pressing ctrl-1 to display the kernel console and they should be display at the top. It doesn't matter if the first few entries are missing if they have scrolled of the screen.
I forgot to implemented counting of lines in Tetris. But I have added it to the todo list. I also need to improve the game play a bit. Levels etc.
And one more thing: what CPU speed is detected (si command, cpu tab)?
Thanks, clange
Glad to hear that it works. If you could just give me the type of the memory map entries. You should find them by pressing ctrl-1 to display the kernel console and they should be display at the top. It doesn't matter if the first few entries are missing if they have scrolled of the screen.
I forgot to implemented counting of lines in Tetris. But I have added it to the todo list. I also need to improve the game play a bit. Levels etc.
And one more thing: what CPU speed is detected (si command, cpu tab)?
Thanks, clange
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Attached is the updated memory map.
The CPU speed reported is 899.995MHz, which is half of what the CPU is meant for (1.8GHz).
The CPU speed reported is 899.995MHz, which is half of what the CPU is meant for (1.8GHz).
- Attachments
-
- mojo-0.1.3-alpha memmap.txt
- Updated memory map
- (628 Bytes) Downloaded 114 times
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Thanks for all the help
I have integrated your memory map in my unit tests so hopefully it will now continue working on your machine.
Merry Christmas
clange
I have integrated your memory map in my unit tests so hopefully it will now continue working on your machine.
Merry Christmas
clange
- Troy Martin
- Member
- Posts: 1686
- Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:40 pm
- Location: Langley, Vancouver, BC, Canada
- Contact:
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Are you running a dual-core box? That's probably the problem.JackScott wrote:The CPU speed reported is 899.995MHz, which is half of what the CPU is meant for (1.8GHz).
-
- Member
- Posts: 2566
- Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: miselin
- Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
- Contact:
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
I'm thinking more something that'll reduce the CPU clock speed to keep it cooler. Except I thought all of those were controlled by the OS, not by the hardware itself.
- Troy Martin
- Member
- Posts: 1686
- Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:40 pm
- Location: Langley, Vancouver, BC, Canada
- Contact:
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Hmm, interesting thoughts.
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
It is indeed a dual-core box. Pentium E2160.
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
@Troy Martin:
I'm sure that it is my code that is wrong. It shows half the speed in VMware and on my own machine too. I'm usin the PIT as a timer and the RDTSC to get a clock tick delta. I suspect that I have selected the wrong timer mode and is counting each tick twice - that would explain it. But I just adjusted my calculations instead.
I'm sure that it is my code that is wrong. It shows half the speed in VMware and on my own machine too. I'm usin the PIT as a timer and the RDTSC to get a clock tick delta. I suspect that I have selected the wrong timer mode and is counting each tick twice - that would explain it. But I just adjusted my calculations instead.
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Haha, I doubt it. The machine is watercooled.pcmattman wrote:I'm thinking more something that'll reduce the CPU clock speed to keep it cooler.
-
- Member
- Posts: 2566
- Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: miselin
- Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
- Contact:
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
Haha, ok - OT, how hot does it run on average? The only other possibility I can think of is speed stepping, but I can't remember if that's something the OS initialises and controls or if it's hardware controlled.
Re: Mojo 0.1.2 released - please test and comment
It's only turned on for OSDev testing, so the machine hardly has time to warm up from room temperature before I turn it off again. The hottest I've ever watched it get was 40 degrees centigrade.