GUI for bochs debugger

This forums is for OS project announcements including project openings, new releases, update notices, test requests, and job openings (both paying and volunteer).
stlw
Member
Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by stlw »

WindowsNT wrote:Current features:

* Asm/Dump/Registers/Controls all-in-one
* GDT table explanation
* Input/Output to bochs if you need to command it
* Physical or Linear dump
* Registers automatically change when entering/exiting protected or long mode to 32-bit/64-bit etc
* Registers get red when changed
* Toggle/Untoggle breakpoint at dissassembly
* Keyboard shortcuts for all the stuff

http://www.turboirc.com/asm/b4.jpg

Hi, I didn't see reply from you so I'll post you this here as well.

I see you already implemented very nice debugger. I really like it - actually it is pretty similar to my dreams :)
But I have a few questions to you related to it:

1. Do you plan to release the sources for your debugger GUI to CVS (under LGPL of course) or you want to keep debugger closed sources ?

If you going for closed sources - it might become a big problem. The debugger interface is going to be significantly changed very soon,
I am not going to do anything that hard to adopt for, I even could modify debugger GUI sources myself according to the interface changes
but of course only if debugger GUI sources are in Bochs repository.
I am going to drop from CVS external debugger dll (extdb) just because it is closed sources and it cannot fit in new implementation of BX_MEM class in Bochs.

2. I see you don't use Bochs internal disassemble in your GUI ?
Which one do you use ? I think it might be a problem because we can't integrate to Bochs another external disasm tool and of course we don't want
to be dependent on another external disasm library.
Bochs disasm also has another important capability - it knows to disasm instructions that Bochs knows to run.
Sometimes it is much more than you physical CPU capable to do (look on SSE4_1, SSE4_2 or XSAVE/AES for example) so not sure ext disasm will be able to do the same.

3. Small wish - instead of having register values in the side window I suggest to have the param tree printed as a tree.
This gives you complete flexibility - if Bochs adds more registers you get them in automatically.
You will also have devices state at the same time if you want and automatic support for more than one CPU.

Yes, I am might be the most active Bochs developer and I actually represent two developers.
Myself and Darek Mihoka from emulators.com which actively contribute to Bochs but has no official developer status.
And my intention is to make Bochs interfaces much more flexible and extendable for next Bochs release (which is scheduled for Jan 2009 BTW).

Will be glad to start working with you on making the interfaces better/integrating your code to CVS/anything else !

Stanislav
jal
Member
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 9:09 am

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by jal »

stlw wrote:1. Do you plan to release the sources for your debugger GUI to CVS (under LGPL of course) or you want to keep debugger closed sources ?
I think he said he was to release the sources, check earlier posts in this thread.
Yes, I am might be the most active Bochs developer and I actually represent two developers.
Myself and Darek Mihoka from emulators.com which actively contribute to Bochs but has no official developer status.
And my intention is to make Bochs interfaces much more flexible and extendable for next Bochs release (which is scheduled for Jan 2009 BTW).
It would be great if somehow there was a debugger interface that allowed external debugger tools to 'hook in' to Bochs. Like I said earlier in this thread, my ultimate dream would be to be able to directly hook Bochs into KDEvelop, so that I can debug in the GUI.


JAL
User avatar
kmtdk
Member
Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Cyperspace, Denmark
Contact:

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by kmtdk »

well
the "test" dont have a "gui" .
just an other icon ?
because i cant find the "gui" part.


KMT dk
well, what to say, to much to do in too little space.
when it goes up hill, increase work, when it goes straight, test yourself but when going down, slow down.
WindowsNT
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:55 pm

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by WindowsNT »

Forgot to say you have to enable the interface in bochsrc

display_library: win32, options="windebug"
User avatar
bewing
Member
Member
Posts: 1401
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:45 pm
Location: Eugene, OR, US

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by bewing »

In that case, I suppose I no longer can use f12 to activate the mouse? Is the mouse always active, or is it always off, or is there some other thing to do to activate it?

Or is it that mouseclicks/movement inside the emulation window get sent to the emulated system, and you use the mouse messages yourself for the gui all the rest of the time?

Edit: Ooops. Doesn't work on Win'98SE -- oh well. Nevermind. :D
User avatar
kmtdk
Member
Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Cyperspace, Denmark
Contact:

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by kmtdk »

enhanced bochs debugger:
view address, value: ds:si, error= dont use em, looks at 0x00000d
else work fine ( if you use the value: 0x1000:0x1000)
it need a auto update funciton.
the "s" command, has to appere as an "f8"
and the menu "command" needs a function "reset"
if you press "ctrl+c" in the console windowe, it terminate(all)
does not matter, it was just a test.
the first "windows" where the current address and intstrucions are, need to be able to scroll longer down.
else i dont more problem, but what is the "break" for?
and will it be possibel to make the "command" menu ,just when you press the right mouse button, and are in the instructuion window ??

edit: also, when pressing enter, in the "input" line, it says "beep", with i dont like..
secound, the focus, is not totaly currect. when im typing, the cursur dissapere, until i move the mouse( the mouse cursur, not the typing cursur)

KMT dk
well, what to say, to much to do in too little space.
when it goes up hill, increase work, when it goes straight, test yourself but when going down, slow down.
User avatar
lukem95
Member
Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 6:03 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by lukem95 »

is there a download link for us to test? i'd actually find it very useful, as im in need of doing some serious debugging right now
~ Lukem95 [ Cake ]
Release: 0.08b
Image
WindowsNT
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:55 pm

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by WindowsNT »

See first post.
WindowsNT
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:55 pm

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by WindowsNT »

Update 1.

* Added MMX registers
* Added SSE registers
* F7 dump now accepts register expressions like DS:EDI

You should be able to update automatically from menu help.
User avatar
kmtdk
Member
Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Cyperspace, Denmark
Contact:

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by kmtdk »

Well. It works totaly fine.
But i just came up with another ideer- a "ascii" dump.
***
Just keep the good work.
it realy incresses programming speed.
***

KMT dk
well, what to say, to much to do in too little space.
when it goes up hill, increase work, when it goes straight, test yourself but when going down, slow down.
WindowsNT
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:55 pm

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by WindowsNT »

Update 1.02.

* Dump can now be shown in ASCII mode (but you can't edit it yet when in ASCII mode)
* Shift+F3 shows Paging Table (if Paging is enabled)

Michael
User avatar
kmtdk
Member
Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Cyperspace, Denmark
Contact:

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by kmtdk »

well
it works good
but how if you could "restart the hole debugging"
because the "old" restart button dont work ..
secound: when im marking something in the instrcution area, it dissapere when i want to write a command;
can you do something about that one too ?

kmt dk
well, what to say, to much to do in too little space.
when it goes up hill, increase work, when it goes straight, test yourself but when going down, slow down.
WindowsNT
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:55 pm

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by WindowsNT »

Update 1.03
* Added debug registers (DRX)
* Added test registers (TRX) - Bochs does not support them (and they are generally removed from the CPU) yet so don't try it, but later they might be there.
stlw
Member
Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by stlw »

So how about the source code to be integrated into Bochs ?

Thanks,
Stanislav
WindowsNT
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:55 pm

Re: GUI for bochs debugger

Post by WindowsNT »

It will be out as soon as there is nothing to fix or add, currently I have some small fixes to try.
Locked