Littlefoot86 filesystem/shell test request

This forums is for OS project announcements including project openings, new releases, update notices, test requests, and job openings (both paying and volunteer).
Post Reply
White-spirit
Member
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:23 pm
Location: [0x8:0x1000]

Littlefoot86 filesystem/shell test request

Post by White-spirit »

Hello,

I've finished the shell and the filesystem part of my OS, but I need some tests before I implement multi-tasking support and a debugger .

Here's the floppy image ( runs with Bochs and QEmu, other emulators are not tested ) : [URL NOT WORKING ANYMORE AND LOST THE SOURCE CODE, SORRY] .

Thanks :-)
Last edited by White-spirit on Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:07 am, edited 4 times in total.
Working on multi-tasking support ...
User avatar
lukem95
Member
Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 6:03 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Post by lukem95 »

it wouldnt let me download, on: http://encodable.com/uploaddemo/files/floppy.img.bz2 i get "no."
~ Lukem95 [ Cake ]
Release: 0.08b
Image
White-spirit
Member
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:23 pm
Location: [0x8:0x1000]

Post by White-spirit »

Okay sorry, I've changed the hosting service : [URL NOT WORKING ANYMORE AND LOST THE SOURCE CODE] , I'm sure it works now .
Last edited by White-spirit on Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:08 am, edited 2 times in total.
Working on multi-tasking support ...
User avatar
inflater
Member
Member
Posts: 1309
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:32 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by inflater »

Hmm, WinImage must be alergic to EXT2 formatted floppy disk images again.

On the other side, I've didn't found any bugs. Shell works like a charm, good work. 8)
My web site: http://inflater.wz.cz (Slovak)
Derrick operating system: http://derrick.xf.cz (Slovak and English :P)
cyr1x
Member
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:41 am
Location: Germany

Post by cyr1x »

Hi :)
The shell is nice, I like it but i found a small bug.
When I write something to the end of a line(for example: echo aaaa....), I get the error "Unknown command aaaaaaaa ."
White-spirit
Member
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:23 pm
Location: [0x8:0x1000]

Post by White-spirit »

cyr1x wrote:Hi :)
The shell is nice, I like it but i found a small bug.
When I write something to the end of a line(for example: echo aaaa....), I get the error "Unknown command aaaaaaaa ."
Thanks, I'ill work on that ( it's probably because the max command length is 16 bytes, and for the args 63 bytes ) .
Working on multi-tasking support ...
chezzestix
Member
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 5:51 pm

Post by chezzestix »

Very nice work, I love that you use cd, dir and echo (the most latter I never find in these hobby oses). I didnt find any real problems except for the fact I didnt know how to open the files in littlefoot86. I assume your working on that.
pcmattman
Member
Member
Posts: 2566
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:

Post by pcmattman »

inflater wrote:Hmm, WinImage must be alergic to EXT2 formatted floppy disk images again.
OT, but what version of WinImage are you using? EXT2 only came in at 8.00...
White-spirit
Member
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:23 pm
Location: [0x8:0x1000]

Post by White-spirit »

chezzestix wrote:Very nice work, I love that you use cd, dir and echo (the most latter I never find in these hobby oses). I didnt find any real problems except for the fact I didnt know how to open the files in littlefoot86. I assume your working on that.
Thanks, I'm working on a "<" operator to do something like "echo < /etc/littlefoot86/.fichier1", and a fread command .
Last edited by White-spirit on Mon May 19, 2008 6:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Working on multi-tasking support ...
White-spirit
Member
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:23 pm
Location: [0x8:0x1000]

Post by White-spirit »

Okay I've removed the little bugs in the shell, I've also added a command to read the content of a file .

I've forgot to tell you that the command "help" lists the available commands, with their descriptions ;-)

PS : I've edited the link in the first post .
Working on multi-tasking support ...
User avatar
lukem95
Member
Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 6:03 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Post by lukem95 »

my "shell" has echo support :)

the ls works, as does cd (but no .. yet).

i need to port it to userland though
~ Lukem95 [ Cake ]
Release: 0.08b
Image
Post Reply