how can approach my OS ( its not really a Os its an App) ?
any good suggestion can be help full
questions:
1. Every thing is kernel level - there is no user mode app (fully text based as a matter of fact)
2. Every thing is hard coded. so do I need a MM?
3. If one part (if a thread) malfunctions then I don't want the whole kernel to crash ? (i.e. if it calculated a wrong address for some reason and decided to write its data to that space then i don't want that to happen ) so i need MM ! ?
4. Malfunction of codes are very possible in my case. cause The codes rewrites it self.
5. I am Trying develop a AI
how can approach my OS
- packet50071
- Member
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: canada
how can approach my OS
Technology is here to make things easier not harder.
- piranha
- Member
- Posts: 1391
- Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 7:42 pm
- Location: Unknown. Momentum is pretty certain, however.
- Contact:
Umm......hmmmm...let me think abo- No. If its an App, it's not an OS. I mean wow. Research might help.how can approach my OS ( its not really a Os its an App) ?
So....that means that if the app screws up, the computer crashes.Every thing is kernel level - there is no user mode app (fully text based as a matter of fact)
How would someone install programs? And run them? If you don't want this, then thats a problem because writing all the apps yourself and putting them into the kernel is not good. Slow. Insecure.2. Every thing is hard coded. so do I need a MM?
Good luck without an MM or flexable system. Don't hard code. Allow flexability!Malfunction of codes are very possible in my case. cause The codes rewrites it self.
Me too. But you will need a flexable system for this, not hardcoded.I am Trying develop a AI
-JL
SeaOS: Adding VT-x, networking, and ARM support
dbittman on IRC, @danielbittman on twitter
https://dbittman.github.io
dbittman on IRC, @danielbittman on twitter
https://dbittman.github.io
- jerryleecooper
- Member
- Posts: 233
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 6:32 pm
- Location: Canada
Re: how can approach my OS
packet50071 wrote:how can approach my OS ( its not really a Os its an App) ?
any good suggestion can be help full
questions:
1. Every thing is kernel level - there is no user mode app (fully text based as a matter of fact)
2. Every thing is hard coded. so do I need a MM?
3. If one part (if a thread) malfunctions then I don't want the whole kernel to crash ? (i.e. if it calculated a wrong address for some reason and decided to write its data to that space then i don't want that to happen ) so i need MM ! ?
4. Malfunction of codes are very possible in my case. cause The codes rewrites it self.
5. I am Trying develop a AI
1. Yes
2. What is a MM?
3.For your threads not to crash your kernel you need to give them privilege level 3, so they can't write or read to from memory dpl 0 from your paging system. So yes you need an MM if you want protection.
4. Bad idea if done poorly, but otherwise good idea in a spirit of AI .
5. Good luck.
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: how can approach my OS
Maybe a stupid question, but if that's your goal wouldn't it be easier to develop that in windoze or linux?packet50071 wrote:5. I am Trying develop a AI
- Brynet-Inc
- Member
- Posts: 2426
- Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:29 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: brynet
- Location: Canada
- Contact:
Re: how can approach my OS
For some reason, novice developers want their OS to be highly intelligent.Combuster wrote:Maybe a stupid question, but if that's your goal wouldn't it be easier to develop that in windoze or linux?packet50071 wrote:5. I am Trying develop a AI
"My OS is gonna be the next Hal9000!!"
It's funny.. but let the kids play their computer games.
iv had ideas about AI, and if i was gonna make (or attempt) one, i would start frm scratch.
however x86 isn't designed for AI, so i would start with a custom arch and custom hardware.
Making a AI for a small, fair simple creature would be awesome if you had the money to design and implement all the hardware requirements
however x86 isn't designed for AI, so i would start with a custom arch and custom hardware.
Making a AI for a small, fair simple creature would be awesome if you had the money to design and implement all the hardware requirements
- packet50071
- Member
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 2:27 pm
- Location: canada
okay! I didn't mean AI such as in Hal9000
I think i wasn't clear on saying , what i want to do
I meant AI such as in playing chess / Controlling Electronic devices with out human attentions etc
I have my base setup (GDI , IRQ and KEYBOARD) ready to start my first prj
My first prj is gonna be a chess AI that can "physically" play a chess game
I have almost all of the Equipments that I need ( need two more motors and a 2 more battery) and I also made good layout that will work (hope fully)
MM = memory management
Combuster : I don't feel like creating a driver in windows Cause my parallel port for windows is messed up ( it always sends 255 no matter what). And also I need the full CPU's speed.
and i am not a big fan of Linux
I think i wasn't clear on saying , what i want to do
I meant AI such as in playing chess / Controlling Electronic devices with out human attentions etc
I have my base setup (GDI , IRQ and KEYBOARD) ready to start my first prj
My first prj is gonna be a chess AI that can "physically" play a chess game
I have almost all of the Equipments that I need ( need two more motors and a 2 more battery) and I also made good layout that will work (hope fully)
MM = memory management
Combuster : I don't feel like creating a driver in windows Cause my parallel port for windows is messed up ( it always sends 255 no matter what). And also I need the full CPU's speed.
and i am not a big fan of Linux
Last edited by packet50071 on Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Technology is here to make things easier not harder.
- AndrewAPrice
- Member
- Posts: 2299
- Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
- Location: USA (and Australia)
Re: how can approach my OS
If the logic in your code is as good as in your questions, then I can see why.packet50071 wrote:4. Malfunction of codes are very possible in my case.
My OS is Perception.