Page 1 of 1

qemu under windows

Posted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 1:05 am
by bkilgore
Anyone succesfully using qemu under windows to test their os? I tried using both the stable 0.6.0 and the nightly build, and neither seems to work for me.
I'm using

Code: Select all

qemu -fda floppy.img -boot a
because I create a valie (1.44MB) raw floppy image as part of building the OS. This disk image works fine under bochs, but when i try to launch qemu with the above (or any other parameters whatsoever), nothing happens. It looks like a window pops up for a few milliseconds, and then disappears and the program closes. Any ideas? Thanks.

Re:qemu under windows

Posted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 3:06 am
by srg
bkilgore wrote: Anyone succesfully using qemu under windows to test their os? I tried using both the stable 0.6.0 and the nightly build, and neither seems to work for me.
I'm using

Code: Select all

qemu -fda floppy.img -boot a
because I create a valie (1.44MB) raw floppy image as part of building the OS. This disk image works fine under bochs, but when i try to launch qemu with the above (or any other parameters whatsoever), nothing happens. It looks like a window pops up for a few milliseconds, and then disappears and the program closes. Any ideas? Thanks.
This seems to be because even the windows build is an ELF executable.
try changing it to this:

Code: Select all

qemu -L . -fda floppy.img -boot a
This AFAIK is the path to an ELF loader.

srg

Re:qemu under windows

Posted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:08 am
by df
no its a proper windows .exe

the -L . tells it where to find the BIOS files and other support files.

Re:qemu under windows

Posted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:47 am
by srg
df wrote: no its a proper windows .exe

the -L . tells it where to find the BIOS files and other support files.

ahh, I'd just read about that somewhere (I can't remember).

srg

Re:qemu under windows

Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:24 am
by bkilgore
Thanks. Adding -L . worked. I wonder why I didn't see that as required in the manual. It had a sample executions line that didn't have that. Anyway, thanks for the help.

Re:qemu under windows

Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:38 am
by srg
The readme that comes with it has an example line with the -L . in it. Also you should have come wit ha batch file.

srg