Page 1 of 1
Changing gfx mode
Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 2:17 pm
by mr. x2
My kernel is running in pmode and it's using x86.
Can someone post a code snippet that will change this graphics mode, for me to study? I would have to switch over to unreal mode first huh? I would like to have it all, the code which switches to unreal mode, then setting the graphics mode, and then switching back to pmode. I prefer C or AT&T/Intel syntax asm.
Will this kind of code work with VESA, VGA, SVGA -modes too?
Re:Changing gfx mode
Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 2:32 pm
by DennisCGc
Depends what mode..
If you change to 320x200x256 or 640x480x16 you can change it when in p.mode.
To know how see
this
To use VESA modes, you can either choose to return to r.mode (or unreal mode) to change it, or you can make it only for VESA 3.0 and you should initialize it before p. mode, (to get the pmode entry) and with that entry you can switch to a resolution without switching to r. mode.
Or you can do all this before switching to p. mode.
Re:Changing gfx mode
Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 3:19 pm
by mr. x2
I know I can do it like that, and thus, that's not my question!
But thanks for the link.
I want to set the mode when the kernel is running, and I want to switch to real mode and back.
PS: What's happened to osdever.net?
Re:Changing gfx mode
Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 4:00 pm
by Tim
mr. x2 wrote:
I know I can do it like that, and thus, that's not my question!
But thanks for the link.
I want to set the mode when the kernel is running, and I want to switch to real mode and back.
No, you don't want to switch back to real mode. For standard VGA modes, switch by programming the registers (see Dennis's link). For SuperVGA modes, write a
V86 monitor and use VESA. You shouldn't ever need to switch back to real mode.
PS: What's happened to osdever.net?
The server suffered some sort of failure, and they didn't have any backup.
Re:Changing gfx mode
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:43 am
by bubach
are all there php pages and articles gone!?
Re:Changing gfx mode
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:14 am
by ineo
Tim Robinson wrote:
PS: What's happened to osdever.net?
The server suffered some sort of failure, and they didn't have any backup.
The previous server is still working:
http://www.osdev.neopages.net/tutorials.php?cat=0&sort=1
God save the web
INeo
PS: The homepage redirects to the broken server... use the tabs to navigate.
Re:Changing gfx mode
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 7:30 am
by DennisCGc
Will this kind of code work with VESA, VGA, SVGA -modes too?
No ? ::)
Re:Changing gfx mode
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 11:56 am
by ASHLEY4
I think its simpler to switch to unreal mode, Then making a v86 monitor, If all you want yo do is switch modes, You can do it with a few lines of code if you set some var at boot up and do not use paging.
ASHLEY4.