Page 1 of 1

floppyb problem

Posted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 2:50 am
by autrign
I have implement my floppy driver. It works with floppy-a well. But it doesnt work with floppy-b in Bochs. I mean I change the base address of floppy to set floppy b active, but it stucks when I send a command and wait for an interrupt. I mean I got an interrupt after resetting floppy a. But dont get any int after resetting floppy b. Do I have to do something to enable and read from floppy b??

Re:floppyb problem

Posted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:13 pm
by Neo
floppy A and B are on the primary controller, so this should not be that diificult. btw have you enabled floopy drive B in bochsrc file?
you dont have to reset them separatley as they are on the same controller. You could post your code here and mayvbe someone will see the error.

Re:floppyb problem

Posted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 2:43 pm
by autrign
Neo wrote: floppy A and B are on the primary controller, so this should not be that diificult. btw have you enabled floopy drive B in bochsrc file?
Yes, it shouldnt. But it did stuck when I just change the base addr from 3f0 to 370. And is this enough to enable floppy drive B in bochsrc file???

floppya: 1_44=a.img, status=inserted
floppyb: 1_44=b.img, status=inserted

Re:floppyb problem

Posted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 2:48 pm
by Tim
autrign wrote: Yes, it shouldnt. But it did stuck when I just change the base addr from 3f0 to 370.
By doing that, you've invented an entire new floppy drive controller. As Neo says, each controller supports both drive A and B (drives C and D can also exist). So drives A and B are used through the same controller base address.

Re:floppyb problem

Posted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 7:30 pm
by Slasher
on the primary controller foppy B is drive number 1

Re:floppyb problem

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 12:23 pm
by Neo
so did it work?