Page 1 of 1
My Boot Loader doesn't work
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 10:16 am
by Vladaz
Hello, everybody!
My Boot Loader doesn't work. I copy it to my floppy disk and it doesn't boot when i execute it from vmware.
That's my booting.asm file:
Code: Select all
[BITS 16]
[ORG 0x7C00]
mov ah, 0Eh
mov al, 'A'
mov bh, 04h
mov bl, 0
int 10h
hang:
jmp hang
times 510-($-$$) db 0
dw 055AAh
Can somebody help me to fix this problem. Maybe i skiped something.
Thanks
Re:My Boot Loader doesn't work
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:00 am
by DennisCGc
Vladaz wrote:
Hello, everybody!
My Boot Loader doesn't work. I copy it to my floppy disk and it doesn't boot when i execute it from vmware.
That's my booting.asm file:
Code: Select all
[BITS 16]
[ORG 0x7C00]
???
???mov ah, 0Eh
???mov al, 'A'
???mov bh, 04h
???mov bl, 0
???int 10h
hang:
???jmp hang
times 510-($-$$) db 0
dw 055AAh
Can somebody help me to fix this problem. Maybe i skiped something.
Thanks
Maybe a stupid question.. do you copy it with rawrite.exe or dd (or cp) ?
And another solution, which I had when I wrote my first bootloader, the first rule you write to the screen doesn't appear so you should write to rule number 2 (or when you initialized int 10h correctly).
I think that's caused by the BIOS, unless someone proves me wrong!
And another thing, why should you boot it from VMWARE ? ::)
Re:My Boot Loader doesn't work
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:36 am
by ASHLEY4
Hi
Should it not be dw 0AA55h
ASHLEY4.
Re:My Boot Loader doesn't work
Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 6:54 am
by DennisCGc
ASHLEY4 wrote:
Hi
Should it not be dw 0AA55h
ASHLEY4.
Could be true.
Although, some BIOSses don't check it and just execute it.
I think you should try either dw 0AA55h or db 55h,0AAh.
Or you should try my first answer.