Page 1 of 1

pmode jump

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2001 11:00 pm
by J. Weeks
Okay... I've got quite an annoyance...

I've written OS code before... had a mini kernel goin' on
and everything looked good... except the programming form.

So, I've begun rewritting the code in a more readable
fashion... and now the friggin' think wont enter
pmode! :)

Everything seems to work... I enter pmode (cr0 += 1)
and load all the registers with valid descriptors,
and then the far jump:

jmp 0x10:offset

At this point, I get a gpf! What gives? What would
cause this problem? A faulty gdt, I presume... but
I'm using the same gdt as before, and it's valid, and
loaded properly. What else would cause this?

Thanks,
J. Weeks

RE:pmodeĀ jump

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2001 11:00 pm
by mudi
>On 2001-07-29 21:33:51, J. Weeks wrote:
>Okay... I've got quite an annoyance...
>
>I've written OS code before... had a mini kernel goin' on
>and everything looked good... except the programming form.
>
>So, I've begun rewritting the code in a more readable
>fashion... and now the friggin' think wont enter
>pmode! :)
>
>Everything seems to work... I enter pmode (cr0 += 1)
>and load all the registers with valid descriptors,
>and then the far jump:
>
>jmp 0x10:offset
>
>At this point, I get a gpf! What gives? What would
>cause this problem? A faulty gdt, I presume... but
>I'm using the same gdt as before, and it's valid, and
>loaded properly. What else would cause this?
>
>Thanks,
>J. Weeks

I bet,you changed somthing that you do not relize !!!
Check it over and over and over !!!

Mudi