Page 1 of 1
Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 7:40 am
by Whatever5k
Have you noticed any problems with Bochs concerning interrupts. Because I can handle keyboard IRQs on a real machine but it doesn't work on Bochs 2.0. I think it worked on in Bochs 1.4.1, but I'm not really sure...
Any ideas?
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 9:05 am
by Whatever5k
Hm, I noticed that my keyboard IRQ works in Bochs when I change my stack size...I had the stack size to be 256 KB, I had s.th. like this:
Code: Select all
section .bss
resb 262144 ; = 256 KB
stack_top:
Now, when I change it to 4KB (4096), it works...
Anybody knows why? Besides, I'm having trouble with my page fault handler...although I have set up my own ISR for interrupt 14, Bochs quits with the error message "3rd (14) exception with no resolution" when enabling paging...
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 9:11 am
by Whatever5k
Ok, when I generate an "__asm__("int $0xe")", that is a page fault, my Page fault handler successfully handles it...but when I try to enable paging, bochs quits with the known error
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 9:25 am
by Pype.Clicker
page fault exception come with a error code which cannot be pushed on the stack by your INT 0x0e instruction.
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 9:28 am
by Whatever5k
Well, I didn't push anything on the stack, and my page fault handler said that there would be a page fault at address 0 (because there was nothin in cr0 and because I just did int $0xe)
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 9:48 am
by Whatever5k
Hm, I think I wrote my page directory wrong to CR3, now I fixed that, but when enabling paging, I get the error:
"prefetch: running in bogus memory"
What does that mean? Can somebody please help me?
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:03 am
by beyondsociety
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:32 am
by Whatever5k
So it has to do something with the stack? In how far?
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:34 am
by beyondsociety
I not sure, I would have to see the part of code for the stack. Is it the same as above?
Re:Bochs/Interrupts
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2003 3:05 pm
by Whatever5k
Well, I think so...Bochs quits with saying:
prefetch: running in bogus memory
My stack is simply that here:
Code: Select all
...
...
mov esp, stack_top
...
...
section .bss
resb 4096 ; 4KB for stack
stack_top: