Page 1 of 1
GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:39 pm
by jrfritz
Just after I enable interrupts, I get a GPF ( my IDT handles it ).
My code is in the "Some IDT code...In C" thread.
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:42 pm
by df
try setting all your IRQ calls to a dead IRET only and see if it still happens...
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:48 pm
by jrfritz
I didn't put in ints for IRQ's. I only put up enough stuff for handling exceptions.
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:50 pm
by df
uh, IRQs file automatically, if you dont have them pointed to IRETS, of course they will crash when you enable interrupts!!!
have a look at the msg I sent, the updated zip has working IDT code that does not GPF...
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:53 pm
by jrfritz
Ok.......
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:55 pm
by jrfritz
Just to let you know, when I had IRQs un remapped, I still got a GPF so adding IRQs into my IDT won't help. But I will try that and you code.
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:55 pm
by whyme_t
For exceptions 8,10,11,12,13 and 14, did you drop the Error code?
Code: Select all
_defaultHandler:
pusha
call _default_isr
popa
iret
__defaultHandlerEC:
pusha
call _default_isr
popa
add esp, $4
iret
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:07 pm
by jrfritz
No...i'll try that.
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:35 pm
by jrfritz
DF...you where right...IRQs fired...and my IDT is at 100% working! ( for the moment
)
<page of smilies> ( I didn't actually post a page of them so this thread won't crash
)
Re:GPF problem
Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:36 pm
by jrfritz
TY Code Slasher, DF, whyme_t!