Page 1 of 1

GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:39 pm
by jrfritz
Just after I enable interrupts, I get a GPF ( my IDT handles it ).

My code is in the "Some IDT code...In C" thread.

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:42 pm
by df
try setting all your IRQ calls to a dead IRET only and see if it still happens...

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:48 pm
by jrfritz
I didn't put in ints for IRQ's. I only put up enough stuff for handling exceptions.

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:50 pm
by df
uh, IRQs file automatically, if you dont have them pointed to IRETS, of course they will crash when you enable interrupts!!!

have a look at the msg I sent, the updated zip has working IDT code that does not GPF...

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:53 pm
by jrfritz
Ok.......

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:55 pm
by jrfritz
Just to let you know, when I had IRQs un remapped, I still got a GPF so adding IRQs into my IDT won't help. But I will try that and you code.

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 3:55 pm
by whyme_t
For exceptions 8,10,11,12,13 and 14, did you drop the Error code?

Code: Select all

_defaultHandler:
    pusha
    call _default_isr
    popa
iret

__defaultHandlerEC:
    pusha
    call _default_isr
    popa
    add esp, $4
iret

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:07 pm
by jrfritz
No...i'll try that.

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:35 pm
by jrfritz
DF...you where right...IRQs fired...and my IDT is at 100% working! ( for the moment ;) )

<page of smilies> ( I didn't actually post a page of them so this thread won't crash ;) )

Re:GPF problem

Posted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:36 pm
by jrfritz
TY Code Slasher, DF, whyme_t!