Page 1 of 1
PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Thu Aug 29, 2002 11:34 am
by drizzt
[attachment deleted by admin]
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Thu Aug 29, 2002 1:24 pm
by drizzt
Ehm.. another question.. if I write a common interrupt handler for every 256 interrupts (also for interrupt 08h)... it should not call the common interrupt handler at every clock tick?!
Thanx in advance.
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 2:15 am
by Pype.Clicker
what Tran/Renaissance made in its tutorial on pmode/v86/etc. was to dedicate *one* protected mode interrupt to realmode callback.
i.e. in order to call INT 10h, setup 320x200, you would have
push 0x10
mov ax, 0x0013
int 0x31 (that was the virtual interrupt request)
add esp, 4
and well, yes, if you want your trick to work, you'll have to switch back to INT 08 (real mode) when IRQ0 is fired. however, if you decide to speed up the clock (i.e. 1KHz for scheduling), you're not forced to call INT 08 every time: you can divide its frequency at will ...
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 8:03 am
by drizzt
[attachment deleted by admin]
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 8:09 am
by drizzt
what Tran/Renaissance made in its tutorial on pmode/v86/etc. was to dedicate *one* protected mode interrupt to realmode callback.
ah... pype, could you send me this tutorial?! ...or simply a link to it
thanks!
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:23 am
by Pype.Clicker
[attachment deleted by admin]
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:24 am
by Pype.Clicker
[attachment deleted by admin]
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:53 pm
by beyondsociety
Thanks for posting your code here, it helped me get into protected mode.
Thankyou drizzt!
I can finally stop trying to get my protected mode code to work and start on my kernel.
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2002 10:15 am
by beyondsociety
This has nothing to do with your post but with the code you posted.
When you entered pmode, then setup the registers, why did you use the bx register instead of the ax register.
Does it matter what register you use?
ax,bx,cx,dx
Whats your logic behind this?
Re:PMode interrupt again...
Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2002 12:07 pm
by Pype.Clicker
you do whatever you want with your registers. no logic is needed ...