failed to boot both default and fallback entries.
this is the error I get when I try to boot my OS with qemu, OR virtualbox. I compiled many times in different ways configured some settings a bunch of times and nothing worked. All the time the same error.
error: out of memory
- thewebparadox
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 4:27 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: the web paradox
error: out of memory
finesseOS
Re: error: out of memory
Well that's too bad. Thanks for sharing.
- thewebparadox
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 4:27 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: the web paradox
Re: error: out of memory
not helping.kzinti wrote:Well that's too bad. Thanks for sharing.
finesseOS
- thewebparadox
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 4:27 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: the web paradox
Re: error: out of memory
FIXED FINALLY
edit - reason is because the RAM was too less which i did not realize the OS needed like 1 GiB and i put 264 megabytes
edit - reason is because the RAM was too less which i did not realize the OS needed like 1 GiB and i put 264 megabytes
finesseOS
Re: error: out of memory
There wasn't anything in your post to help you with.thewebparadox wrote:not helping.
-
- Member
- Posts: 501
- Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 9:40 am
- Libera.chat IRC: glauxosdever
- Location: Athens, Greece
Re: error: out of memory
Hi,
Assuming you just started out (otherwise you would had already some previous build that worked), having a requirement of 1 GiB is definitely too much. I suggest you look into it. Are you sure your code is loaded at the address you expect it (usually 0x00100000)? Even if built with the most "unoptimised for size" options, a Bare Bones kernel should be way less than 100 KiB, let alone 1 GiB.
Regards,
glauxosdever
Assuming you just started out (otherwise you would had already some previous build that worked), having a requirement of 1 GiB is definitely too much. I suggest you look into it. Are you sure your code is loaded at the address you expect it (usually 0x00100000)? Even if built with the most "unoptimised for size" options, a Bare Bones kernel should be way less than 100 KiB, let alone 1 GiB.
Regards,
glauxosdever
Re: error: out of memory
It's good when an error message tells you exactly what the problem is.
-
- Member
- Posts: 799
- Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:41 pm
- Libera.chat IRC: mpetch
Re: error: out of memory
Have to agree with glaux, I think there is something more to this. I assume the out of memory error was from Grub? If you posted your code (on github or some other service) to this point we could take a look. I have a suspicion you are masking another problem by changing memory size.
I am curious if you are doing the higher half kernel?
I am curious if you are doing the higher half kernel?
Re: error: out of memory
Hi,
My best guess (given that I don't have Combuster's famous crystal ball...) is that one of two things is happening:
Adam
My best guess (given that I don't have Combuster's famous crystal ball...) is that one of two things is happening:
- You have a lower half stub and higher half kernel in the same flat binary and your linker has kindly padded the kernel out to a multi-GiB file. In this case switch to ELF.
- You have linked the higher-half kernel to some high memory address and the linker is attempting to place your kernel at that physical location. In this case, make use of proper linker directives to separate your kernel's physical and linear addresses.
Adam