Page 1 of 1

GDT refresh

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:00 pm
by intel_breaker
Hi, I have one simple question:
If i used tss with one of GDT entries, and I change offset (base address) of this GDT segment - must I refresh segment (or what this is called):
For example:
if i would unlimited the tss strucures count, I use one address for all tss'es - address 0x400000. Before I switch to the next task, scheduler map process tss to this address (in kernel's pgd and process's pgd)

*Sorry about language mistakes:)

Re: GDT refresh

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:00 pm
by digo_rp
if you want an example go to
http://cody.homelinux.com/~digo_rp/

and take my source PcOSX.zip

it is in gcc with nasm I use tss struc. dinamic alocation etc.

:D

Re: GDT refresh

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:00 pm
by intel_breaker
Yeah, thx for code, but you use a diffrent selectors for every tss struct (I'm working on method that afford me use one selector for all tss structs), another thing is this, that you have a MAX_TASKS macro, I want have unlimited tasks count:) But thx for help