Page 1 of 2

Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:05 pm
by DeezRamChips
Hi everyone ^_^

So, I'm developping an OS Optimized IDE (with grub2 and other useful tools implemented).

To install grub on linux, I'm using

Code: Select all

grub-mkrescue --output=boot.iso iso
How could I do this in windows ?



For the ones interested by the IDE, It's open source and I'll post something when I'm done ^_^

Thanks !

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:11 pm
by Octacone
DeezRamChips wrote:Hi everyone ^_^

So, I'm developping an OS Optimized IDE (with grub2 and other useful tools implemented).

To install grub on linux, I'm using

Code: Select all

grub-mkrescue --output=boot.iso iso
How could I do this in windows ?



For the ones interested by the IDE, It's open source and I'll post something when I'm done ^_^

Thanks !
As far as I know you can only install GRUB as your primary Windows bootloader. Try Cygwin and see if it supports GRUB.

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:32 pm
by DeezRamChips
Ok, thanks !

I just rememberd that I can just copy the new kernel.bin to the iso

Silly me xD

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:44 pm
by Octacone
DeezRamChips wrote:Ok, thanks !

I just rememberd that I can just copy the new kernel.bin to the iso

Silly me xD
Np! ;) How is your OS going?

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:58 pm
by Ch4ozz
DeezRamChips wrote:Ok, thanks !

I just rememberd that I can just copy the new kernel.bin to the iso

Silly me xD
Im using ISO Master to replace the bin files in the iso file and it works great

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:01 pm
by DeezRamChips
Well, I haven't had time to do anything on it for A while :/ Had a lot of work for school xD

I've uploaded the source code od the ide on github (it's only the beginning, I haven't uploaded the editing part)
https://github.com/AlexandreRouma/OS-Studio

And, is iso master command line compatible ? (have to use

Code: Select all

Shell("command here")

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:05 pm
by DeezRamChips
Oh, nevermind, found a library called DiskUtils !
https://discutils.codeplex.com/

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:05 am
by DeezRamChips
So, I tried DiskUtils, but it did not work :/

Where did you get Isomaster for windows ?

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:21 pm
by Ch4ozz
DeezRamChips wrote:So, I tried DiskUtils, but it did not work :/

Where did you get Isomaster for windows ?
Hm I cant remember, Im sure you will find a link on google though

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:22 pm
by max
DeezRamChips wrote:Hi everyone ^_^

So, I'm developping an OS Optimized IDE (with grub2 and other useful tools implemented).

To install grub on linux, I'm using

Code: Select all

grub-mkrescue --output=boot.iso iso
How could I do this in windows ?



For the ones interested by the IDE, It's open source and I'll post something when I'm done ^_^

Thanks !
Are you using Cygwin? Simply install it in Cygwin. You can then run it as if you'd do on Linux. It's in the "obsolete" packages.

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:56 am
by DeezRamChips
I don't have an "obsolete" package :/
Image

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:57 am
by DeezRamChips
Just realize there is an hide obsolete button I'm so stupid...

Sorry xD

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:06 am
by DeezRamChips
But, I still can't find the grub2 package :/

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:14 am
by max
DeezRamChips wrote:But, I still can't find the grub2 package :/
Take 1.98-2, it's actually GRUB2. Might not be the very newest version but it's sufficient.
grub-1.98-2.PNG
grub-1.98-2.PNG (3.73 KiB) Viewed 6572 times

Re: Running grub-mkrescue on windows

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:28 am
by DeezRamChips
can you send me your cygwin set, I don't have the Misc thing :(