Formatting a FAT12 floppy

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
cyanDev
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:46 am

Formatting a FAT12 floppy

Post by cyanDev »

Hello!
I have a floppy emulated using a VFD.
Then I have a bootloader with OEM parameter block:

Code: Select all

;*************************************************;
;	OEM Parameter block
;*************************************************;

bpbOEM					db "cyanOS  "
bpbBytesPerSector:  	DW 512
bpbSectorsPerCluster: 	DB 1
bpbReservedSectors: 	DW 1
bpbNumberOfFATs: 	    DB 2
bpbRootEntries: 	    DW 224
bpbTotalSectors: 	    DW 2880
bpbMedia: 	            DB 0xF0
bpbSectorsPerFAT: 	    DW 9
bpbSectorsPerTrack: 	DW 18
bpbHeadsPerCylinder: 	DW 2
bpbHiddenSectors: 	    DD 0
bpbTotalSectorsBig:     DD 0
bsDriveNumber: 	        DB 0
bsUnused: 	            DB 0
bsExtBootSignature: 	DB 0x29
bsSerialNumber:	        DD 0xa0a1a2a3
bsVolumeLabel: 	        DB "CYANOS FLP "
bsFileSystem: 	        DB "FAT12   "
I assume, that if the floppy has a FAT12 file system it should be recognized by windows. But when i try to access it using windows explorer it says, that the floppy is not formatted. Am I missing something or is this normal?

Thanks for all the answers,
cyan
User avatar
iansjack
Member
Member
Posts: 4706
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:07 am
Location: Chichester, UK

Re: Formatting a FAT12 floppy

Post by iansjack »

What are the first three bytes of your boot sector?

What about the rest of the disk? Is it formatted?
alexfru
Member
Member
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:27 am

Re: Formatting a FAT12 floppy

Post by alexfru »

iansjack is spot-on! Windows wants a jump as the very first instruction. See mine for example.
Post Reply