Hi, as said in the title, i was wondering how could i enter the vesa mode and plot pixels
I took time to read the page on the iki but i still dont understand :/
For the ones ho are interested, here is the source code : https://github.com/AlexandreRouma/PenutOS
Thanks for your help
How to enter and use VESA Video Modes ?
- DeezRamChips
- Member
- Posts: 132
- Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:03 am
- Location: atapio.cpp - why won't you work :(
- Contact:
How to enter and use VESA Video Modes ?
Last edited by DeezRamChips on Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
My github page: https://github.com/AlexandreRouma
Meme-deving since 420 Bc !
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyJnOD ... C8Y7pccc6A
Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatsTheGeekYT
Meme-deving since 420 Bc !
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyJnOD ... C8Y7pccc6A
Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatsTheGeekYT
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: How to enter and use VESA Video Modes ?
Since you've read the wiki, which method do you plan to use and what about it don't you understand?
- DeezRamChips
- Member
- Posts: 132
- Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:03 am
- Location: atapio.cpp - why won't you work :(
- Contact:
Re: How to enter and use VESA Video Modes ?
Well, since I want to use my own bootloader, I want to change it at startup (just before entering P-Mode)
My github page: https://github.com/AlexandreRouma
Meme-deving since 420 Bc !
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyJnOD ... C8Y7pccc6A
Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatsTheGeekYT
Meme-deving since 420 Bc !
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyJnOD ... C8Y7pccc6A
Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatsTheGeekYT
- DeezRamChips
- Member
- Posts: 132
- Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:03 am
- Location: atapio.cpp - why won't you work :(
- Contact:
Re: How to enter and use VESA Video Modes ?
And, what I dont understand, is how to plot a pixel after a changed the mode (i successfully change to 800 x 600 x16M) but i doesn't want to display anything so i assume i didn't change the mode correctly :/
My github page: https://github.com/AlexandreRouma
Meme-deving since 420 Bc !
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyJnOD ... C8Y7pccc6A
Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatsTheGeekYT
Meme-deving since 420 Bc !
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyJnOD ... C8Y7pccc6A
Twitter: https://twitter.com/WhatsTheGeekYT
- Combuster
- Member
- Posts: 9301
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
- Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
- Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
- Contact:
Re: How to enter and use VESA Video Modes ?
The VESA tells you to use three functions, one to get a list of modes, one to get information about a specific mode (to see if it is what you want), and one to set a mode, including full pseudocode. To what extent is that insufficient?
In addition, you'll know setting the mode works if the screen gets cleared.
In addition, you'll know setting the mode works if the screen gets cleared.
- BrightLight
- Member
- Posts: 901
- Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
- Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
- Contact:
Re: How to enter and use VESA Video Modes ?
VESA says use function 0x4F01 to get the address of the framebuffer. You then write to the framebuffer to display pixels.
EDIT: Are you sure bit 14 (value 0x4000) of BX is set when you call function 0x4F02? You need to enable the linear frame buffer.
EDIT: Are you sure bit 14 (value 0x4000) of BX is set when you call function 0x4F02? You need to enable the linear frame buffer.
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.