Bochs - int 15h AX=e820

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
begin
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:51 pm

Bochs - int 15h AX=e820

Post by begin »

Hi,

i cant use this (int 15h AX=e820) function in bochs to get a memory map.
I get the following error:
*** int 15h function AX=e820, BX=0000 not yet supported!
But on this page it seems to work.

I compiled bochs with the following options:
./configure --enable-smp \
--enable-cpu-level=6 \
--enable-all-optimizations \
--enable-x86-64 \
--enable-pci \
--enable-vmx \
--enable-debugger \
--enable-disasm \
--enable-debugger-gui \
--enable-logging \
--enable-fpu \
--enable-3dnow \
--enable-sb16=dummy \
--enable-cdrom \
--enable-x86-debugger \
--enable-iodebug \
--disable-plugins \
--disable-docbook \
--enable-avx \
--enable-long-phy-address \
--enable-idle-hack \
--enable-e1000 \
--with-x --with-x11 --with-term

Can someone help me?
Thanks (and sorry for my english)

Edit:
Im on Ubuntu 14.04 x64
I also used the 2.6.6 install version of bochs on windows, same error.
User avatar
iansjack
Member
Member
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:07 am
Location: Chichester, UK

Re: Bochs - int 15h AX=e820

Post by iansjack »

"Not yet supported" seems a fairly clear message to me.
User avatar
Combuster
Member
Member
Posts: 9301
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Libera.chat IRC: [com]buster
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Contact:

Re: Bochs - int 15h AX=e820

Post by Combuster »

Bochs has supported it for ages now. I tried breaking it and apparently it also prints that message when EDX has the wrong value - and possibly others.
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]
begin
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: Bochs - int 15h AX=e820

Post by begin »

Combuster wrote:Bochs has supported it for ages now. I tried breaking it and apparently it also prints that message when EDX has the wrong value - and possibly others.
Thank you for that, I found my mistake.
A missing "[BITS X]" in my include file translated

Code: Select all

mov		EDX, 0x534D4150
into

Code: Select all

mov		DX, 0x4150
My bad :oops: . Thanks for your help!
Post Reply