Page 1 of 1
how to get privilege (x86)?
Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 9:45 pm
by descent
when a process is running, how to get its privilege?
I want to know now running code is ring0, ring1, ring2 or ring3.
read %cs bit0, bit1 is ok?
Re: how to get privilege (x86)?
Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:06 am
by Combuster
Read the manual on conforming and non-conforming segments, then for a 32-bit kernel, try SS instead. Then when you're done, get rid of the code because there's absolutely no need to have it.
Re: how to get privilege (x86)?
Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:44 am
by bluemoon
On some platform there is a simple API for applications:
Code: Select all
bool IsRing3(void) {
return true;
}
/troll