Page 1 of 1

Protected mode question...

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 12:00 am
by DoctorPMODE
How do you reset a processor which is operating in protected mode?  Can you please issue the code?

Thank you!

RE:Protected mode question...

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 12:00 am
by knicos
I do it with a triple fault, but im sure there is a better way.

To do this, set the IDT descriptor to 0 length and call any interrupt.

RE:Protected mode question...

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 12:00 am
by pkd
Boot:

mov dx,0x64
mov al,0xfe
out dx,al

jmp Boot     ;Just in case

I use this code to reset I think it might be a better way then calling a triple fault.

When I read up about i think they said there are 4 ways to reset and some of them might not work on all systems, so i hope this works.

pkd

RE:Protected mode question...

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 12:00 am
by hartyl
then, is there any (easy?) way to shut down the computer (i mean, turn of the atx power supply)? some ins and outs?

greets, hartyl

RE:Protected mode question...

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 12:00 am
by pkd
I think you need to use the APM protected mode interface to do this.

Look up int 15 AX = 5303h in the interupt list,

I haven't tried it yet (Currently bug hunting)

It requires you to setup 3 selectors, and then to call the functions through the Entry Point that is returned.

hope this helps

pkd