Page 1 of 1
multitasking without TSS
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:57 pm
by Sv9toi
Hey all!
I want to do task switching without TSS. Who can help me?
Re: multitasking without TSS
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:20 am
by a5498828
hardware task switching require tss by definition.
in software do whatever you like, tss is mandatory only for increasing cpl.
Re: multitasking without TSS
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:18 am
by rdos
I think that hardware taskswitching is incompatible with SMP (I could be wrong, but it is my impression), so I switched from hardware taskswitching to software taskswitching about a year ago. I still use the TSS though, and save/load registers to/from the TSS (with software), and use LTR to load the new TSS. I think it is a good idea to use the TSS even if hardware taskswitching is not used. The only problem I can see with leaving hardware taskswitching is that some faults that before generated invalid TSS and stack faults, now tend to generate complex faults in the scheduler that sometimes leads to panics, especially when the stack is involved.