Page 1 of 1
What is necessary to get a floppy IRQ?
Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 11:00 pm
by pepito
I don't know how to be able to trap the floppy IRQ-6. I need it to know when the FDD end a command.
pepito
RE:What is necessary to get a floppy IRQ?
Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 11:00 pm
by knicos
Would help to know a little more.
You need to:
Program the PIC
Setup an IDT and install an interrupt routine
Also make sure the floppy controller is setup to produce an IRQ
All of above can be found in tutorials on internet. Reply if any further questions or details are needed.
RE:What is necessary to get a floppy IRQ?
Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:00 pm
by pepito
I have done the 3 first steps already, but I don't know about the last step.
How can I setup the floppy controller to produce an IRQ?
Seting the bit 3 of the DOR register?
Thank you for your response
pepito
RE:What is necessary to get a floppy IRQ?
Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:00 pm
by knicos
Yes, Set bit 3 of dor to enable dma and irq. That should work.
If it still dont work then check over the first 3 steps, but i cant see the problem.
RE:What is necessary to get a floppy IRQ?
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 11:00 pm
by pepito
Thank you very much!
By now I am using the busy bit of MSR and the 'sense interrupt status' command to determine if the command have finished.
pepito