Page 1 of 1

Unreal Mode...

Posted: Thu May 29, 2003 11:00 pm
by darklife
Is it possible to do multitasking in unreal-mode using TSS's?
Maybe setup the TSS's before the switch back to real(unreal) mode?
It will be a wonder if I ever figure out pmode :)

RE:Unreal Mode...

Posted: Thu May 29, 2003 11:00 pm
by jamethiel
No, unreal mode doesn't use Task State Segments.

All unreal mode does is change the segment limit in real mode from 64k to whatever else you want (typically 4G). That's -it-. Using a TSS would require protected-mode interrupt handling, which unreal mode doesn't provide.

You might be able to put something together using VM86 mode and seting the IOPL to 3, but that would require understanding pmode, which sortof defeats the point.

--Jamethiel

RE:Unreal Mode...

Posted: Thu May 29, 2003 11:00 pm
by ka3r
On the net (and I think on Christopher Giese's pages) you can find a multitasking example that does not use the TSS, but it use the return address on the stack to jump to another app.