limitation of PIO mode

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
User avatar
pulsar
Member
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:01 am
Location: chennai

limitation of PIO mode

Post by pulsar »

Hi
I 've been working on ata driver. What are the limitations of PIO mode except the fact it takes processor's clock cycles. What is the maximum size of the disk that can be accessed in PIO mode? because i tried to read from a 40gb disk, it's reading the lower sectors efficiently but it is not reading sectors beyond certain limit, i double checked the block address and verified that it is the correct block address by hexediting the disk. it works fine when i use image file of smaller size.
everyone here are best programmers ( not yet not yet)
User avatar
Brendan
Member
Member
Posts: 8561
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:00 am
Location: At his keyboard!
Contact:

Re: limitation of PIO mode

Post by Brendan »

Hi,
pulsar wrote:Hi
I 've been working on ata driver. What are the limitations of PIO mode except the fact it takes processor's clock cycles. What is the maximum size of the disk that can be accessed in PIO mode? because i tried to read from a 40gb disk, it's reading the lower sectors efficiently but it is not reading sectors beyond certain limit, i double checked the block address and verified that it is the correct block address by hexediting the disk. it works fine when i use image file of smaller size.
There's 2 completely seperate issues here - telling the disk drive which sectors to read or write (CHS, LBA, LBA-48, ATAPI, etc) and transferring data to/from the drive (PIO and DMA modes). It sounds like you've got problems with the first part (and the transfer itself is working fine).


Cheers,

Brendan
For all things; perfection is, and will always remain, impossible to achieve in practice. However; by striving for perfection we create things that are as perfect as practically possible. Let the pursuit of perfection be our guide.
User avatar
pulsar
Member
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:01 am
Location: chennai

Post by pulsar »

Thanks Brendan,

I figured out, since i was using an image file and original device alternatively i changed number of heads to 10 in bochs configuration file. So it wasn't reading beyond that and it doesn't report any errors.
everyone here are best programmers ( not yet not yet)
Post Reply