Page 1 of 1

64bit TSS

Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 12:21 pm
by Code
Hello, i heard that hardware tasking isnt supported in longmode. But on what do i need a 64bit TSS then ?

Re:64bit TSS

Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:58 pm
by zyp
You need to put cr3 and esp so that the cpu can find the ring0 page directory and stack when jumping to ring0.
It works just like software multitasking in protected mode.

Re:64bit TSS

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:57 am
by CopperMan
All what you need in 64-bit TSS is :

1. ESP0 - (esp for ring 0)
2. SS0 - (ss for ring 0)

Proper set of this values is needed to normal Long mode operation.