Page 1 of 1
Bios Pmode
Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2002 12:00 am
by Anonymous
How can I access bios routines from pmode ?
RE:Bios Pmode
Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 12:00 am
by French_Touch
>On 2002-02-17 19:50:53, Anonymous wrote:
>How can I access bios routines from pmode ?
In fact, I think you can't because bios interrupts
are only available with the real mode:
For exemple in Pmode, interrupts 13h ( disk access )
are replaced by a processor exception.
Moreover Bios Interrupts are based on the real mode not on Pmode...
Good luck
RE:Bios Pmode
Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 12:00 am
by The Legend
>On 2002-02-18 02:15:49, French_Touch wrote:
>>On 2002-02-17 19:50:53, Anonymous wrote:
>>How can I access bios routines from pmode ?
>
>In fact, I think you can't because bios interrupts
>are only available with the real mode:
>For exemple in Pmode, interrupts 13h ( disk access )
>are replaced by a processor exception.
>
>Moreover Bios Interrupts are based on the real mode not on Pmode...
>
>Good luck
You will have to use the V86-Mode if I am not mistaken,
but transfer data to and from that mode can be quite messy ...
The Legend
RE:Bios Pmode
Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 12:00 am
by J. Weeks
>You will have to use the V86-Mode if I am not mistaken,
>but transfer data to and from that mode can be quite messy ...
Some bioses do have a 32-bit pmode implementation
that you can use. Linux, in fact, uses it if it
can find it. I'm not sure of the specifics and
what it implements, but it's a chunk of memory,
located withen the first 1MB, I believe, and
flagged at the beginning with a 'BIOS32' string
(possibly a couple other variants on that as well)
Jeff
>
>The Legend
RE:Bios Pmode
Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 12:00 am
by Guest
>On 2002-02-18 12:20:24, J. Weeks wrote:
>Some bioses do have a 32-bit pmode implementation
>that you can use. Linux, in fact, uses it if it
>can find it. I'm not sure of the specifics and
>what it implements, but it's a chunk of memory,
>located withen the first 1MB, I believe, and
>flagged at the beginning with a 'BIOS32' string
>(possibly a couple other variants on that as well)
The only thing I've seen BIOS32 used for is the PCI BIOS.
RE:Bios Pmode
Posted: Sat Mar 30, 2002 12:00 am
by Ghiottone
>On 2002-02-18 23:02:07, Anonymous wrote:
>>On 2002-02-18 12:20:24, J. Weeks wrote:
>>Some bioses do have a 32-bit pmode implementation
>>that you can use. Linux, in fact, uses it if it
>>can find it. I'm not sure of the specifics and
>>what it implements, but it's a chunk of memory,
>>located withen the first 1MB, I believe, and
>>flagged at the beginning with a 'BIOS32' string
>>(possibly a couple other variants on that as well)
>
>The only thing I've seen BIOS32 used for is the PCI BIOS.
There is a far call pointer you can call from protected mode that tells you what kind of services you can get from BIOS in protected mode. The services are only PCI BIOS interface and Plug and Play services
Look at Ralf Brown interrupt list (a file called farcall.lst) for more informations