Page 1 of 1

BIOS interrups in PM Mode

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:24 pm
by B.E
How do I call bios intterrupts in pm mode?
Do i switch to real mode and call in interrupt and switch back to PM Mode, do i emulate the interrupts or what

Re:BIOS interrups in PM Mode

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:26 pm
by ASHLEY4
I switch back to realmode for realmode int's, but most people scorn this practise, but i find it works great. having said that i would only use realmode ints for things like text/graphic mode switching etc.
For other things like floppy access, its best to make pmode functions.
Here is a link to the same topic, with some of my asm code on how i return to realmode and back may help ?.

http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=1854

\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.

Batteries not included, Some assembly required.

Re:BIOS interrups in PM Mode

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:26 am
by B.E
Is there a way to copy the real mode code to memory and then convert that memory to PM mode code and then referrence the converted code in the IDT.

Re:BIOS interrups in PM Mode

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 1:01 am
by AR
You could theoreticaly convert the entire BIOS to 32bit then attach the IDT to it but it would be impractical and far more complex then just writing a few functions to deal with disk IO and the screen.

Re:BIOS interrups in PM Mode

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 3:36 am
by Pype.Clicker
it would also be rather useless since there exist Virtual Mode to run 16 bits realmode code in protected environment ;)