Over 1 Meg OS Loading
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
Also...when I make kernelasm.asm into a elf object file...ld says "unsupported file format" when it is the correct format and it never did this before....
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
ni dont have internet access right now (about 5 mins each morning...)
to change the ld open the makefile and change
LD=ld-all on it..
"LD=ld"
hopefully my internet will be back up by tomorow/weekend and I can have a proper look
to change the ld open the makefile and change
LD=ld-all on it..
"LD=ld"
hopefully my internet will be back up by tomorow/weekend and I can have a proper look
-- Stu --
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
I fixed it by:
LD=ld *.o
and...now I have the object problem as said above....
LD=ld *.o
and...now I have the object problem as said above....
-
- Member
- Posts: 1600
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:59 am
- Location: Vienna/Austria
- Contact:
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
hi Tom (solar ray),
upon examining your idt.cpp, i saw keyboard related code in the init_idt function.
I do not understand why you put this code right there. You will have reasons of your own, but i suggest (not that I write BETTER organized code, I try just to organize the functions in an other way) that you put these four lnes in an own function which initializes the keyboard.
btw, how did you figure out where to put the scancode translations for each key in the keymap?
bye
tom (one more is not sooo bad isn't it? but i am from austria **gg*)
upon examining your idt.cpp, i saw keyboard related code in the init_idt function.
I do not understand why you put this code right there. You will have reasons of your own, but i suggest (not that I write BETTER organized code, I try just to organize the functions in an other way) that you put these four lnes in an own function which initializes the keyboard.
btw, how did you figure out where to put the scancode translations for each key in the keymap?
bye
tom (one more is not sooo bad isn't it? but i am from austria **gg*)
... the osdever formerly known as beyond infinity ...
BlueillusionOS iso image
BlueillusionOS iso image
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
My IDT code is Not finnished...I will work on it better....I would never release code THAT bad....it is just test code....I couldn't even debug it because I need to load my kernel properly....
I know my code is bad....its just test stuff....never use my code that is not on my site...and you don't need to comment on my unreleased code...since it is not fixed up or tested...I know how bad my IDT is....i'm going to fix it after I can actually load my kernel....
I know my code is bad....its just test stuff....never use my code that is not on my site...and you don't need to comment on my unreleased code...since it is not fixed up or tested...I know how bad my IDT is....i'm going to fix it after I can actually load my kernel....
-
- Member
- Posts: 1600
- Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:59 am
- Location: Vienna/Austria
- Contact:
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
seems as if I have put hands on a bleeding wound, solar ray. so i take glowing coals upon my head and beg your pardon. May thee wrath not smite me.
... the osdever formerly known as beyond infinity ...
BlueillusionOS iso image
BlueillusionOS iso image
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
Huh?
I am not angry....I was just explaining that I know my code was not good....
I am not angry....I was just explaining that I know my code was not good....
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
I'm going to stop using GRUB....re-do my bootsector....learn some DOS tricks to use the BIOS to load things at 1 meg...also make a bootsector that reads filesystems and such...and learn some more about RM coding....
Then I'll get back to work on the kernel....
(Note: This plan may change)
Then I'll get back to work on the kernel....
(Note: This plan may change)
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
Ok!
Got my kernel loaded at 0xFFFF:0x0010!
Now...thats 1 meg right?
Just to make sure...I think it is since the jump to 0x100000 works.....(i'm using my pk0.3 bootsector)
Got my kernel loaded at 0xFFFF:0x0010!
Now...thats 1 meg right?
Just to make sure...I think it is since the jump to 0x100000 works.....(i'm using my pk0.3 bootsector)
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
Yep it is...
Now...off to make a stack that is bigger than 64k.
(a 0xFFFF stack is 64k, right?)
Now...off to make a stack that is bigger than 64k.
(a 0xFFFF stack is 64k, right?)
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
..
Last edited by Perica on Sun Dec 03, 2006 8:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re:Over 1 Meg OS Loading
Alias=other name, shortcut...it means other...
Anyway....
I have 1 name here...but there is a setting in the profile where you can change your name here,
Anyway....
I have 1 name here...but there is a setting in the profile where you can change your name here,