Page 3 of 3
Re: Using Turbo C++
Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:51 am
by DeletedAccount
Hi,
It is possible to write an OS in Turbo C . See FreeDos kernel as an example , also pdos . I used trubo C for writing my first operating system . The only problem is that i got somewhat addicted to bad turbo habits .. like accessing registers with _AX = 5 ; etc and that really leads to non portable code .
Regards
Shrek
Re: Using Turbo C++
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 9:18 am
by i586coder
Shrek wrote:
It is possible to write an OS in Turbo C .
sure, my OS kernel "UNEXT/os" it's completely written under turbo c 3.1
Shrek wrote:
The only problem is that i got somewhat addicted to bad turbo habits .. like accessing registers with _AX = 5 ; etc and that really leads to non portable code .
i don't see any problem or bad turbo habits if you e.g "accessing registers with _AX = 5", it may an advantage of turbo C to access
regs in that simple way, about portable code, also no problem use
external NASM source to code your assembly chunk, & link it to your
C file, that make it 99% protable to other compilers
CheerS,
a.T.d
Re: Using Turbo C++
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:43 pm
by pcmattman
You could write a macro to make things portable:
Code: Select all
#ifdef TURBOC // or some other thing ala GNUC
# define SetAX(a) (_AX = a)
#endif
You can then add an #elif too for things like GNU C and other compilers (that might use inline assembly). It'll do the same thing, in a far more portable way.
Re: Using Turbo C++
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:16 pm
by tantrikwizard
TheDragon wrote:Though I confess I haven't done much research on that
Obviously, save yourself some typing and us some reading and do some simple research. Start here:
http://wiki.osdev.org/Getting_Started
next here
http://wiki.osdev.org/Beginner_Mistakes
next here
http://wiki.osdev.org/Rolling_Your_Own_Bootloader
Every answered you seek has been posted numerous times and is quickly found in the wiki or by searching the forum
Re: Using Turbo C++
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:19 pm
by TheDragon
Re: Using Turbo C++
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:38 pm
by DeletedAccount
Hi,
You need to know that turbo C ( versions <= 3) are 16 bit compilers , they only generate 16 bit code . Using grub is not really an option , you need to probably roll your own bootlolader
.You can off course tasm or nasm with Turbo C
Regards
Shrek