Page 2 of 2
Re:getting VESA Mode list
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:26 am
by amirsadig
the double fault was a page fault during procesing page fault.
but now return the old problem from Monitor "OUT OF RANGE",
I am sure I set the correct video mode. but when setting not supported mode the bios does not change graphic enviroment and return error code.
Im linux and windows we should implies set the frequence. does VBE do it internaly?
Re:getting VESA Mode list
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:32 am
by DennisCGc
amirsadig wrote:
Im linux and windows we should implies set the frequence. does VBE do it internaly?
Yes, the VESA bios , if correct set in the BIOS, contains the correct frequencies for setting the video mode..
(ps. Windows doesn't have any frequencies
)
Re:getting VESA Mode list
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:07 am
by amirsadig
(ps. Windows doesn't any frequencies )
under display setting (monitor register card) you can set refresh frequence
Re:getting VESA Mode list
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:08 am
by amirsadig
is there any different between VBE 2.0 and 3.0 in function calling?
VMWare and bochs VBE 2.0 and my real PC support VBE 3.0
Re:getting VESA Mode list
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:51 am
by amirsadig
I think in VBE 3.0 I should use the a bove structure to set the refresh rate.
Re:getting VESA Mode list
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:09 pm
by amirsadig
Code: Select all
CRTCInfoBlock struc
HorizontalTotal dw ? ; Horizontal total in pixels
HorizontalSyncStart dw ? ; Horizontal sync start in pixels
HorizontalSyncEnd dw ? ; Horizontal sync end in pixels
VerticalTotal dw ? ; Vertical total in lines
VerticalSyncStart dw ? ; Vertical sync start in lines
VerticalSyncEnd dw ? ; Vertical sync end in lines
Flags db ? ; Flags (Interlaced, Double Scan etc)
PixelClock dd ? ; Pixel clock in units of Hz
RefreshRate dw ? ; Refresh rate in units of 0.01 Hz
Reserved db 40 dup (?) ; remainder of ModeInfoBlock
CRTCInfoBlock ends
I know now what is PixelClock, RefreshRate, VerticalTotal, HorizontalTotal. the others I do not know what is that. did someone knows them?
Re:getting VESA Mode list
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:23 pm
by DennisCGc
amirsadig wrote:
(ps. Windows doesn't any frequencies )
under display setting (monitor register card) you can set refresh frequence
Yes, but you don't have to set it