Page 2 of 2

Re: How can i remap IRQ1?

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:45 am
by NunoLava1998
iansjack wrote:Oh dear! :(
i meant i know how to load interrupts (int xx, that's it.)
i just meant i don't know much or how to load the interrupt descriptor table
it's even harder in C beacuse there's less info and code and documentation.

Re: How can i remap IRQ1? [SOLVED: Stop replying.]

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:58 am
by hgoel
Welcome to OS development.
You need to be more or less capable of working without sample code here, and willing to dig through dense specifications to make sense of things, the IDT is a tiny hurdle in the grand scheme of things.

Re: How can i remap IRQ1? [SOLVED: Stop replying.]

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:03 am
by NunoLava1998
hgoel wrote:Welcome to OS development.
You need to be more or less capable of working without sample code here, and willing to dig through dense specifications to make sense of things, the IDT is a tiny hurdle in the grand scheme of things.
Thank you,

yes, i do sometimes not use sample code. I use sample code when i can't find how to do stuff.
I know the IDT is a tiny hurdle. I just need it for now, for my keyboard handler and other future things.

Re: How can i remap IRQ1?

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:40 am
by iansjack
Your basic problem is that you just don't understand what hardware interrupts are and how the CPU processes them. Until you understand that (try the Intel Programmer's Manuals) cobbling together random bits of code is not going to help.