Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
xenos
Member
Posts: 1121 Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:00 pm
Libera.chat IRC: xenos1984
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Contact:
Post
by xenos » Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:12 am
This looks perfectly fine to me for a 4 MB machine, so if your code works correctly, it should print the same values:
Code: Select all
// lower memory
Usable RAM: Base Address: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x0,
Length: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x9f400 bytes
// EBDA
Reserved: Base Address: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x9f400,
Length: 0x0 X 4GB + 0xc00 bytes
// BIOS ROM
Reserved: Base Address: 0x0 X 4GB + 0xf0000,
Length: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x10000 bytes
// upper memory (3 MB - 8 kB)
Usable RAM: Base Address: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x100000,
Length: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x2fe000 bytes
// ACPI reserved (8 kB)
Reserved: Base Address: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x3fe000,
Length: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x2000 bytes
// some other ROM
Reserved: Base Address: 0x0 X 4GB + 0xfffc0000,
Length: 0x0 X 4GB + 0x40000 bytes
Since you don't use GRUB, how do you obtain the memory map? Using int 15h? Have you checked that part of your code?
sounds
Member
Posts: 112 Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 5:03 pm
Post
by sounds » Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:17 pm
My memory map works fine. I think we are both trying to help the OP (requimrar).
xenos
Member
Posts: 1121 Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:00 pm
Libera.chat IRC: xenos1984
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Contact:
Post
by xenos » Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:42 pm
sounds wrote: My memory map works fine. I think we are both trying to help the OP (requimrar).
Indeed, I didn't see that you posted the memory map, I thought requimrar had written that post... Never mind.
zhiayang
Member
Posts: 368 Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:57 am
Libera.chat IRC: zhiayang
Post
by zhiayang » Thu Aug 23, 2012 2:30 am
Apologies. My computer fried, so I had to replace the hard drive. I'll be posting the memory map up in a while, thanks for the help in the meantime.
EDIT: I got my machine up and running. This time though, I compiled QEMU from source. However, I'm still getting that bogus memory from 0x100000, 0x1efe000 in length.
Is it safe to assume that memory actually exists?