Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Lprogster
Member
Posts: 174 Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:59 am
Post
by Lprogster » Fri May 18, 2007 6:37 am
Hi all
I have yet another problem... Trying to get input from the mouse.
..See next post...
Thanks yet again,
Lster
Last edited by
Lprogster on Fri May 18, 2007 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lprogster
Member
Posts: 174 Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:59 am
Post
by Lprogster » Fri May 18, 2007 11:26 am
...
Thanks,
Lster
Last edited by
Lprogster on Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Lprogster
Member
Posts: 174 Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:59 am
Post
by Lprogster » Fri May 18, 2007 12:49 pm
Thanks for links. Brilliant
.
My physical mouse is USB, but I'm using Qemu. That's why I'm not sure about the hardware...
Than you again,
Lster
Brynet-Inc
Member
Posts: 2426 Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:29 pm
Libera.chat IRC: brynet
Location: Canada
Contact:
Post
by Brynet-Inc » Fri May 18, 2007 1:04 pm
Lprogster wrote: Thanks for links. Brilliant
.
My physical mouse is USB, but I'm using Qemu. That's why I'm not sure about the hardware...
Than you again,
Lster
Uhh, Well QEMU is an emulator.. Your host hardware wouldn't make any difference at all.. It's likely emulating a PS/2 mouse to the guest operating system.
Twitter: @canadianbryan . Award by smcerm, I stole it. Original was larger.
pcmattman
Member
Posts: 2566 Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:
Post
by pcmattman » Fri May 18, 2007 4:20 pm
QEMU emulates a PS/2 mouse. So does Bochs (unless you tell it otherwise).
I know, because I use my cursor in QEMU... my mouse is USB and my OS only supports PS/2 so far. I plan to implement USB soon...
Lprogster
Member
Posts: 174 Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:59 am
Post
by Lprogster » Sat May 19, 2007 3:05 am
Are there any tutorials for either PS/2 mouse or USB mouses/ devices? Everything I find, I can't understand!
Last edited by
Lprogster on Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
pcmattman
Member
Posts: 2566 Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:
Post
by pcmattman » Sat May 19, 2007 7:58 pm
Well, go to my project's sourceforge site, browse the CVS (Go to CPP_Kernel folder) and then look at my mouse driver... It's a hack job but it works.
If you want better code, look at Linux's source, or rewrite mine.
Lprogster
Member
Posts: 174 Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:59 am
Post
by Lprogster » Sun May 20, 2007 3:00 am
Thank you loads for that pcmattman. I think it is nearly working, but I keep getting the mouse input to my keyboard_handler (at IRQ1)! This means loads of strange characters on the screen - shouldn't that input go to IRQ12?
Anyone had this problem before?
Thanks,
Lster
pcmattman
Member
Posts: 2566 Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:
Post
by pcmattman » Sun May 20, 2007 3:15 am
No, my problem was the keyboard data going to IRQ 12 (which is fixed anyway).
Have you mapped the interrupts properly?
Lprogster
Member
Posts: 174 Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:59 am
Post
by Lprogster » Sun May 20, 2007 4:52 am
Every thing's OK now... I confused some code... Beware of copy and paste!
Thank you pcmattman - again,
Lster
pcmattman
Member
Posts: 2566 Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm
Libera.chat IRC: miselin
Location: Sydney, Australia (I come from a land down under!)
Contact:
Post
by pcmattman » Sun May 20, 2007 5:11 am
No worries!
Lprogster
Member
Posts: 174 Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:59 am
Post
by Lprogster » Sun May 20, 2007 5:23 am
One last question though...
...See later...
I hope I'm being coherent enough.
Anyhow - thank you for the code,
Lster
Last edited by
Lprogster on Wed May 23, 2007 5:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
AndrewAPrice
Member
Posts: 2309 Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: USA (and Australia)
Post
by AndrewAPrice » Sun May 20, 2007 8:48 am
Lprogster wrote: Why doesn't this work:
You have to initialise the stack.. then there's no reason why it shouldn't work!
Lprogster
Member
Posts: 174 Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:59 am
Post
by Lprogster » Sun May 20, 2007 8:53 am
...
Thanks,
Lster
Last edited by
Lprogster on Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.