OS proramming on IntelMac

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
Tehy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:12 am

OS proramming on IntelMac

Post by Tehy »

Hi,

I just got the new iMac and I would like to know what tools I need to OS proramming?

Thanks! :)
User avatar
carbonBased
Member
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Wellesley, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by carbonBased »

You've probably already got everything:
The GCC compiler suite and binutils would cover pretty much everything.

You'll probably also want a PC emulator like QEmu, Bochs, or VMWare.

I've used all, and I like QEmu for most everything, but Bochs allows better debugging.

--Jeff
User avatar
chase
Site Admin
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 10:46 pm
Libera.chat IRC: chase_osdev
Location: Texas
Discord: chase/matt.heimer
Contact:

Post by chase »

I didn't think VMWare ran on OSX. It's one of the Intel based Macs right? The only computer emulator that I know for sure works on x86 Macs is called Parallels. Parallels isn't free though.
earlz
Member
Member
Posts: 1546
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:00 pm
Contact:

Post by earlz »

microsoft VPC I think is free for mac, I know it is for pc(windows)
User avatar
Brynet-Inc
Member
Member
Posts: 2426
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:29 pm
Libera.chat IRC: brynet
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Brynet-Inc »

...Compile QEMU or bochs 8)
Image
Twitter: @canadianbryan. Award by smcerm, I stole it. Original was larger.
Tehy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:12 am

Post by Tehy »

Ok, thanks for the info :)
User avatar
Colonel Kernel
Member
Member
Posts: 1437
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by Colonel Kernel »

Bumping this thread...

I've managed to create a GCC cross-compiler on OS X. My OS compiles ok and runs under Parallels (not that it does much, but there it is anyway)...

So yes, it is possible! Although I have noticed that Parallels, like Virtual PC, has limited VGA emulation... no 90x60 text mode and custom font for me :cry:
Attachments
PrecursorOnMac.jpg
PrecursorOnMac.jpg (58.04 KiB) Viewed 1172 times
Top three reasons why my OS project died:
  1. Too much overtime at work
  2. Got married
  3. My brain got stuck in an infinite loop while trying to design the memory manager
Don't let this happen to you!
iron_chef
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:29 pm

Post by iron_chef »

There's a native Cocoa port of Qemu for OS X called 'Q' that seems to work fine for me so far. Google around for that...
ehird
Member
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:48 am

Post by ehird »

Akin to this, it is probably also possible to use your OS on a mac, without emulation.

If you use the BIOS, then use Boot Camp and put your OS disk in instead. Use rEFIt for a bootloader.

GUID or whatever Apple uses is probably accessable if you use EFI, not the BIOS (what mactels natively use (EFI that is)) - but being a noob I don't know.

Perhaps someone should code a BIOS/EFI abstraction layer.
User avatar
Colonel Kernel
Member
Member
Posts: 1437
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by Colonel Kernel »

ehird wrote:Akin to this, it is probably also possible to use your OS on a mac, without emulation.
Right now I'm using GRUB, my iMac doesn't have a floppy drive, and I haven't had the time to figure out floppy emulation with a USB key... I haven't even installed Boot Camp yet, so I'm a long way from booting my OS on the raw Mac hardware. :)
Top three reasons why my OS project died:
  1. Too much overtime at work
  2. Got married
  3. My brain got stuck in an infinite loop while trying to design the memory manager
Don't let this happen to you!
Post Reply